Skip to content

Circuit Training and Cookies

May 22, 2011

I’m so happy it’s Sunday! I love the start of a new week. Especially after the one I just had.  I’m looking forward to yet another busy one, but this time one that involves working out and sleeping!

Last night was spent relaxing. By relaxing I mean cleaning my apartment (which was neglected for the whole week), attempting to put my shower curtain back on (I still haven’t gotten it right, but whatever….it works still, kinda), and doing a dance workout DVD (Hey, still gotta shake my booty even if I cant go out), trying to fix my stupid blackberry (need. iphone. now.), working on copious amounts of homework (4 more weeks, 4 more weeks…until I get 2 weeks for summa, yippee!), and planning out my workouts and homework around my school and work schedule. Apparently I need to add “learn how to relax” to my to-do list.

(Since I’m a visual person, I made a HUGE schedule for my week. Chichaayeah.)

I ended up going to bed at around 11, then tried to wake up at 5:30 so I could make it to Bikram. I wanted to eat and give my food at least an hr before I went to ensure that I wouldn’t share my breakfast with my yoga mat. At around 6:30 I could hardly keep my eyes open, so instead of going to yoga, I went back to sleep for an hr and a half. I felt so much better! It was already pretty late, and since it takes me 30 minutes each way to get to yoga, I opted to do an at home workout instead.

Usually, I’m not a fan of at home workouts if it’s not with a DVD. Just because I feel like I don’t push myself as hard. This time was different! I put together all my favorite strength training moves and made one super awesome circuit training plan!

You’ll need a timer (I used my itouch), a mat, and some hand weights (I used 5lbs).

Circuit 1:
Jumping Jacks 1 minute
High Knees 30 sec
Jumping Jacks 1 minute
High Knees 30 sec

Rest 30sec

Circuit 2:
Sumo Squats w/ Press 1 minute
Standing Row (in squat position) 30 sec
Sumo Squats 1/ Press 1 minute
Standing Row (in squat position) 30 sec

Rest 30 sec

Circuit 3:
Biceps Curls (keep right leg held up at 90*) 1 minute
Triceps Dips  30 sec
Biceps Curls (keep left leg held up at 90*) 1 minute
Triceps Dips  30 sec

Rest 30 sec

Toe Touches (with weight) 1 minute
Plank 30 sec
Toe Touches (with weight) 1 minute
Plank 30 sec

Rest 30 sec

Dead lift w/ upwards row 1 minute
Squatting froggie jumps (I honestly don’t know what these are really called but it’s a squat jump where you click your heels….I like my name though) 30 sec
Dead lift w/ upwards row 1 minute
Squatting froggie jumps 30 sec

Repeat 1 more time (2 if you’re feeling feisty)  then finish with the first circuit! It should take just under 35 minutes.

I started to get shaky in some of the intervals! I was so surprised I was dripping sweat at the end of it. My mantra for this workout was “You get what you give”, if I wanted to sweat, I had to work for it! You should do it to and tell me if it really is hard, or if for some reason my apartment is unusually hot today and I’m a just a weakling, haha.

After that awesome workout I hopped in the shower (with my janky curtains), and then decided it was time to bake some cookies!

I promised a friend a while back that I would bake her some yummy healthy cookies, and finally today I had time. Instead of using my own creative genius, I used Chocolate Covered Katie’s!
I baked up some of her “Not Guilty” Chocolate Chip Cookies
Only changes I made were using Brown Rice Flour, and 2tbsp. Coconut Milk.
These were SO good.
 If they weren’t for a special purpose, I would eat them all.

Speaking of CCK, I’m gonna have these featured on her blog!
Vegan Gluten-Free Cake Pops!

Wanna be featured on CCK too? Check out this post to find out more.

Now I’m off to enjoy a HUGE salad, and then work until 11. Gotta love all store meetings!

What were your weekend workouts?

Do you like to circuit train? 

How do you relax? 

Cookies or Cake?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2011 2:13 pm

    I LOVE UR PLANNER POSTER THANG!! im just like u! but ur even better so please come over and make me one!! i LOVE CCKS COOKIES!!! i relax.. PSHA i can rarely relax.. i guess tv!

  2. May 22, 2011 3:03 pm

    Wow you are organized girl! Good for you! My best weekend workout was my ten miler yesterday! But I am definitely a fan of circuit training….its so tough!

  3. May 22, 2011 5:12 pm

    Ahhhh cookies! Sprinkles! Cake Pops! Looove them! So excited to feature them… maybe b/c they have sprinkles? You are awesomelicious!

  4. thebeautynotebooks permalink
    May 22, 2011 5:14 pm

    Love your big, vibrant schedule! I am a big fan of making schedules and lists, as well. Helps with organization and getting things done!

    Your vegan cake pops look delicious! I want to try Katie’s cookies sometime. Also cake or cookies–how about both!? haha :)

  5. applesnoats permalink
    May 22, 2011 5:53 pm

    love the poster. I need to make one of those..I always make tiny ones on scratch paper but end up losing them all. You cake pops are awesome so excited your submitting them!

  6. May 22, 2011 6:00 pm

    I love how huge that plan is! Good idea too because whenever I write stuff down I sometimes forget it. I don’t think you could though because this way it’s in your face the whole time!

    Definitely cookies – i’ve never been a cake person all that much.. :D

  7. May 22, 2011 6:12 pm

    I love your giant workout schedule lol, good idea! When it comes to cookies or cakes, I’m ALL about the cookies. Big, chewy, oatmeal raisin cookies :)
    I like circuit training in my physical development class, but if I have to do it at home, I do a Jillian Michaels workout because she kicks my butt!

  8. May 22, 2011 6:28 pm

    I relax by reading for fun and hiking with my pup :)

    I am loving those cake pops! I keep hearing about them in the blog world…I gotta learn how to make them! I can’t choose between cookies and cake…I LOVE BOTH! haha!

    Hope this week is a little less stressful for you :)

  9. May 22, 2011 6:39 pm

    I love Chocolate Covered Katie!!! Her recipes are the bomb! :)

    What’s a Bikram?

  10. May 22, 2011 7:19 pm

    That workout sounds killer! I love when I’m surprised by my workouts, especially the ones at home. They can be really hard if you put the effort in. The key for me is to get as far away from distractions as possible!
    Those cookies look SO SOFT! I’m actually a bar cookie kinda person, so I guess it’s like a cross between cookie and cake? Actually, I’d just rather have muffins.

  11. tickledtofu permalink
    May 22, 2011 7:35 pm

    Cookies all the way! Especially oatmeal chocolate chip! :)
    As for relaxing, a bubble bath sounds quite lovely right now.

  12. May 23, 2011 12:57 am

    I love your big schedule! And of course, I always love cookies. I think cake wins for me overall though!

  13. May 23, 2011 3:13 am

    Love your big colourful schedule! I’m a visual person too so could do with something like that as well! Those cookies look amazing, I’m just waiting to finish the ones in my freezer then I’ll be trying them out for sure!

  14. May 23, 2011 1:11 pm

    Mmmm…those cookies look so good! I guess all of Katie’s recipes look good though :D I made her blondies yesterday…so good!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

