Skip to content

We are so lucky.

May 23, 2011

Happy Monday!
(Anyone notice the new changes? How do you like em?)

I think I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again. I love Mondays, and today was no exception!

I got home from work last night and was SO tired. It was around 11:30, so instead of waking up at my normal 5:45 I set the alarm for 8:15. It was so worth it! I think I’ve finally caught up on all that sleep I lost!

Breakfast was the usual then I frittered for a while until it was time for my run with Linds.
While frittering I enjoyed multiple cups of this stuff…..
I used to HATE green tea, but now I actually really enjoy it. I honestly dont even know how many cups of this I drank today, haha.
Agreed!

Then it was time for my first training run for the SF Half! It was an easy 5k run, and the weather was PERFECT! It was sunny and warm out but the breeze from the ocean provided just enough of a chill factor so I didn’t overheat.

We finished in 28:51 with and average pace of 9:18. We were talking the whole time and it was so much fun! When we hit the 3 mile mark I was shocked at how fast time had gone by!

Honestly I probably could have picked up the pace a little, but it’s my friends first time ever running a race so we took it a little easy. That time is really close to my ┬áPR for a 5k, and it felt so easy! I’m getting better, yayyyyyy!

I tried to be sneaky a few times and pick up the pace, at one point she was like “heyyy are we running faster?” (Heh-heh….yes?) It was so much fun!

Seriously I can’t get over how beautiful today was. Linds made and great point during our run, the weather was perfect, we were running by the ocean, and she goes “we are so lucky”. I agreed, not everyone gets to run by such a beautiful place (or at all!), and sometimes I take advantage of that!

After my run I wasn’t ravenous (which was weird because it was 1 and I hadn’t eaten since breakfast), so I decided to make something that would take a little longer then 5 minutes to make. It took around 10, haha.
Fiesta Salad!
It’s a sad salad though, not enough veggies! I need to buy more.
Lettuce, Kale, Spinach, Black-Eyed-Peas, Avocado, Hummus, Salsa, Nooch, Grilled GF Tempeh, and some crunchy taco chips!
I made the chips by taking half a food for life brown rice tortilla, cutting it up, and putting some evoo (whatup, rachel ray), and sticking them in the broiler for 8 minutes until they were golden. So good!

My afternoon was filled with more frittering, homework, and blogging. Some also snackage as well. I had a bunch of baby carrots as well as more chips!
I had the other half of the tortilla with some salsa (with added cayenne pepper. I love my spicy.) In my opinion salsa>chips. I love salsa and could probably eat it out of the jar with a spoon. I wasn’t really a fan of this one though, I prefer chunky.

Now I’m off to take a bikram class, because I’ve got nothing better to do and I know if I do I’ll sleep like a baby tonight!

How was your Monday?

Do like salsa?

How many hours of sleep do you get?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 6:28 pm

    Ooh I love your homemade tortilla chips! And the tea thing is so funny/so true. I loove salsa as long as it is MILD! No spice for me :)

  2. May 23, 2011 6:29 pm

    You used to hate green tea? that’s crazy! I love that stuff, glad it grew on you ;)

    I totally have some of those brown rice tortillas! I must make those chips asap!

    My monday was fabulous (last day of school. Woot!)
    Yes I love salsa!
    I usually need about 8 hours of sleep in order to properly function :)

  3. May 23, 2011 7:11 pm

    I love Salsa! My mom just picked some more up from the store this afternoon. :)

    I actually like herbal tea without any sweetener in it. I know, I’m crazy. ;) But that’s the way I like it!

    I probably get about 6-7 hours a night. But I’m working on getting to bed earlier. :) I do get naps sometimes, so that’s a blessing. :)

  4. applesnoats permalink
    May 23, 2011 7:17 pm

    oh la la those “chips” are so crafty!glad you had a great run, friends always make the time fly!

  5. May 23, 2011 7:56 pm

    that really does sound amazing! running by the ocean! I would love that…glad you had such a great run :)

  6. May 23, 2011 8:58 pm

    Congrats on your awesome start to SF training! It’s so awesome that your run was almost as fast as your 5k PR. You’re going to do so good in the race!
    I am absolutely addicted to salsa. It’s a problem. I take it out to put it in a bowl or on a salad or something, and more of it ends up in my mouth straight from the jar than onto my plate!

  7. May 23, 2011 9:24 pm

    arriba arriba! i love salsa too! glad you had a great day! love the new look! i’m a 6-7 hour gal in the working week, 8hours at the weekend!

  8. May 23, 2011 10:10 pm

    I’ve made pita chips a few times before and along with the olive oil I added some garlic, sea salt and thyme. They’re like crack.
    Speaking of crack (or not), my mom makes the best salsa everrrr. It’s so good and so spicy and chunky, especially the morning after we make it because the flavours (read: hugh jass amounts of jalapeno and cilantro) intensify. It’s wonderful.
    I <3 green tea, though I love kukicha tea even more. It's made from the same plant as green tea but instead of using the leaves, kukicha is made with the, uh, twigs of the plant. It has less caffeine and it is alkalizing. Oh, and it tastes awesome too! :)
    I usually get between 9-10 hours of sleep every night. If I don't, I feel horrible and can't function. Also I can't nap. Napping for me is probably worse than going without sleep. I can't do the whole 20-minute power nap. Oh well.
    Also I think I need to try bikram yoga. I've wanted to for a while but haven't for some reason. I've been hearing (well, reading, but whatevskies) a lot about it recently so I think it's time I take it as a sign. ;)

  9. May 24, 2011 1:21 am

    That salad sounds so good! I think I’m a little addicted to green tea, I have one cup of coffee with breakfast then I hit the green tea all day long! Your run sounds lovely :-)

  10. May 24, 2011 4:58 am

    I LOVE UR CHIPS!!!! i wna make some like that! GREAT RUN!!!
    Do like salsa?
    YES
    How many hours of sleep do you get? i try to get at least 8.. but lately its been less! i cnt sleep!

  11. May 24, 2011 7:45 am

    I love your chips they look delicious!!
    I loooove salsa. I’ve been using it on everything lately!. I try to get at least 6-7 hours of sleep per night.

  12. May 24, 2011 1:59 pm

    I love salsa! Have you had the Amy’s brand? It has a wonderful smokiness to it!

  13. czechvegan permalink
    May 25, 2011 2:05 am

    I love Mondays as well, it is great to jump into the new week, looking forward amazing things that are coming:)
    Salsa is awesome, I love it, but usually I try to make my own.
    Lately I got so little sleep it is ridiculous!

  14. May 25, 2011 12:57 pm

    Hi! I just found your blog and I love it! And I love salsa on everything! So flavorful!
    I get around 7 hours of sleep per night. Or else, everyone needs to keep their distance because Im one cranky lady.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

