Skip to content

Guest Post: Molly Runs Fresh

June 3, 2011

Hey guys!
Glad you all liked my spoon! (Wanna know a secret? It’s actually a tablespoon measurer and the whole set is different types of keys. You can get em’ at anthropologie!) This week has been NUTZZZ. I am insanely busy with school and work (and have made some big life decisions lately, which I’m both excited and nervous to share with you….but that can wait until a real post!)

Lucky me, I have some lovely bloggers who are going to take up some space on my blog while I’m busy slaving over finals! To start off is one of my fav. lil’ bloggers, Molly from Molly Runs Fresh. She gorgeous, a runner, and cooks up some pretty amazing eats! Whats not to love?
_________________________________________________________________________

Hey guys! How are you? It’s Molly here from MollyRunsFresh and I am so excited to be writing a guest post for Hannah. I love reading her blog and drooling over her delicious eats. As it says in her bio, this girl is a college health and fitness nut, who also just happens to be vegan. That’s staying on top of your body’s wellness, if you ask me!

As this is my first guest post, I thought it would be wise to not focus on a set topic, and just have fun and let you guys get to know me and experiences with nutrition, exercising, and life in general! All right? Lets get it rollin’:

As I said above, my name is Molly and I just recently graduated high school.

Background Check:I grew up in a town with a population of about 13,000 and I swear, 99.9% of the town’s population are the nicest people ever.  I have a 26-year-old brother and 21-year-old sister, making me

the baby of the family. When I was younger, I really felt left out because my brother and sister were buds and I was the baby, but now I see that there are real perks about being the last kid left in the house!

Fitness: Now that I think back to my kindergarten year of elementary school, it is a wonder how I ever got into sports. Sure I was a tomboy who loved to play kickball, catch snakes, and go fishing, but I was also very focused on school and a book lover by the age of 5. In first grade, my best friend told me she was joining a Rec soccer team, so I decided to register with her. I played soccer every fall until fifth grade, when I took up softball and basketball. I was 10-years-old and already loved the feeling of being active on a team year round.

Me and my friend back in my baller years.

When I was in elementary school, my older brother was a cross country and track runner for our town’s high school. My parents used to pull me out of class to go to his cross country meets and I fell in love with the sport before I even knew how to run. My 6th grade year, I was the first person to sign up for the intramural cross country team so I could be just like my big brother. And so my love with running began!

This is me at one of my first little AAU cross country meets!

 

I continued to run throughout middle school, both for my school’s team as well as through AAU.  My parents never pushed me to train when I didn’t want to, and I think that is what helped me grow as a runner and individual. I feel so sorry for little kids whose parents force them into competitive running when they aren’t even seven years old yet. I have seen my fair share of parents trying to live through their children and cross country meets. Running should be enjoyable and thrilling, not a chore or punishment!

I recently just wrapped up my career as a high school runner and am taking a break before I start with my summer running program. I like to do road races to switch up my training a bit, and might just try my first triathlon in June!

Nutrition: Growing up, I was just like any American kid with working parents. I went to school, had sports practice, and was starving by 6 o’clock. Quick solution? A cheeseburger from Mcdonalds, Frito Chilli Pie from Sonic, or Blizzard from Dairy Queen. I was one of those super energetic kids that could get away with eating straight-up junk because I was always running around with friends. I probably got in 2 miles of sprints ever night just playing Night Tag with my friend and her neighbors! However in high school, I was thrust into a lot harder competition in sports than I was used to. Since I love running so much, I didn’t mind running more mileage to improve my endurance.

However, my sophomore year, I came down with mononucleosis. I had probably been running undiagnosed for a few weeks, so by the time I was diagnosed, I only had to take a week or two off before my symptoms started to reside. I remember my heart sinking when I found out that I had Mono and thinking “there goes my sophomore cross country season”. With rest and focusing more on the quality of foods I ate, my recovery went speedily, and I could run again. From then on, my interest in nutrition has only increased.

Eating whole foods helped give me energy to improve the quality of my training

I do not label myself as vegetarian, vegan, herbivore, etc., Despite the fact that I do not eat red meat, I still enjoy fish and chicken on occasion! When I first transitioned in to healthier eating, I will admit that I had not done my research on how to fuel properly! I reached for the obvious things that are considered healthy, like fruits, vegetables, oatmeal, salad, and turkey sandwiches. My stomach that was used to being satisfied on junk food in small amounts, was now being satisfied on healthier foods in the same small amounts. It didn’t matter how much I ate, the food choices I thought were “healthy”, were not providing enough energy to maintain my muscle mass.  I was tired, frustrated, and questioning what I was doing wrong.  After several months of lots of research and reading, I discovered so many more health foods like quinoa, nut butters, beans, and lean meat that provided my body with much more energy to fuel my active lifestyle.

I have the blog world to thank for most of my education on health and nutrition! I love reading blogs and reading people’s stories of how they became “foodies” and are living active lives. It even sparked my interest in cooking and baking.

Here are some of my favorite recipes I have created:

Oats ‘n’ Chocolate Protein Bars (AKA: “Moo Bars”)
 Vegan Spaghetti with Lentil Sauce
 Perfect Protein Pizzerts
Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

And many more on My Recipes Page!

I hope you guys enjoyed my guest post on LittleCollegeVegan’s blog while she is busy, busy, busy, running, working, and studying. Oh yah, and is she not a stud for training for her first half marathon? This girl’s got it goin’ on! Thank you so much for reading and if you have any questions or just want to chat about running, life, nutrition, anything and errthing, just hit me up at mollyrunsfresh@wordpress.com or visit la blog http://mollyrunsfresh.wordpress.com Bye guys!

______________________________________________________________________
See? Isn’t she amazing? All of her eats are making me hungry! Plus she might be doing a triathlon, *insert mass amounts of jealousy here*

I hope you guys enjoyed Molly’s post as much as I did…I’m off to work on more of my projects! Just an fyi, I’m trying to read as many blogs as possible, but I don’t really have time to comment on them! Just know I love you all and I think you are amazing!

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. applesnoats permalink
    June 3, 2011 7:20 pm

    molly your moo bars look amazing consider them bookmarked!

  2. canttweetitdonteatit permalink
    June 3, 2011 10:51 pm

    Yay I have missed your blog! I loved this guest post and all of the deelish looking food. I’m about to check out the pizzert!

  3. June 4, 2011 12:48 am

    Awesome guest post! So many great recipes. I definitely just saved all of them. :)

  4. June 4, 2011 5:48 am

    Nice to meet you Molly! We have very similar eating habits! I don’t eat red meat either….but fish and chicken are a part of my diet every so often (fish more often though!)! I love those recipes…they looks so great!

  5. June 4, 2011 7:48 am

    I LOVE UR BLOG MOLLY! what a great guest post- u spent a lot of time on this i can tell!

  6. June 4, 2011 9:13 am

    I love molly!
    So cool how early she got into running. And I’ve made those moo bars. Stinkin’ good :)

  7. June 5, 2011 3:24 am

    Hi Molly! What a great guest post! I’m so checking out your blog now!

  8. June 5, 2011 8:33 am

    Thanks everyone for the comments! I was happy to write a guest post for Hannah and glad you all enjoyed it.

  9. June 5, 2011 8:47 am

    Ahhh I love Molly’s blog!! She’s such an inspiration. Molly looks so cool in that picture where she’s wearing the number 26. So intense!!! I’m bookmarking the protein pizzert right now. I have so much protein powder that tastes funny in shakes but is great for baking and that is such a good way to use it up.

  10. June 6, 2011 3:01 am

    Great guest post!! Your Moo Bars looks so good! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

