Skip to content

Rainy Day Ratatouille.

February 19, 2011

” If you are what you eat, then I only want to eat the good stuff. “-Remy, Ratatouille
Little chef has got it right!

Well California couldn’t stay sunny forever! It’s been raining all day and it doesn’t look like it will let up anytime soon….I love the rain. I just loathe the wind!

It is my rest day (from running), so this morning I woke up and lounged around for a while, watched glee, looked through my DVDs and found Ratatouille. I remembered seeing a post about ratatouille on Katie’s blog, so I thought tonight would be the perfect movie/themed dinner night! Sadly, her recipe called for a stove, which I do not have. I also don’t have enough room for tons of leftovers….so I created my own single serving vegan ratatouille (adapted from:this recipe.

Vegan Ratatouille for one

1/3 Cup Tomato Puree (I just made mine in the food processor)
2 Tbsp. Onion, finely chopped
2 Baby Cloves Garlic (or just 1 big one)
1/2 Eggplant (cut into thin slices)
1/2 Roma Tomato (cut into thin slices)
1/2 Red Bell Pepper (cut into thin slices)
3 Mini Zucchini (I didn’t have any big one’s, haha)
Salt & Pepper to taste

Mix the tomato puree, the onion, & the garlic w/ some salt/pepper. Place into the bottom of a small cooking dish, making sure to cover the bottom.

Then you want to cut up all the veggies into thin slices like so….

Grab your dish and then lay them out, placing one over the other so just a bit of each one is showing. Just like the movie:)

Cut a piece of parchment paper the exact size of your dish, and place over the top. Leave in oven for about 35-40 minutes, pop in Ratatouille, the take out and vouila!

I put mine over some Israeli Couscous. SO GOOD.

It’s a good thing I fueled up on that because I decided to pick up a dance class. It was a rhythm and motion class that was a lot like zumba.
It was so much fun and I def got my sweat on!

I thought I deserved a yummy snack/dessert after that so I had Katie’s Banana Bread for one


The batch filled up two cupcake holders! Of course I had to smother them both in coconut butter, haha.

I can’t wait for tomorrow. Wanna know why? I’m planning on going for a long-er run, it’s 7 reasons sunday, and MY MAMA BEAR COMES TO VISIT ME! 🙂 I can’t wait!!!

What do you have going on this weekend?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 5:04 am

    YUM i love this ratatouille!!! and those cupcakes look HEAVENLy!!.. im having a pretty chill weeend!

  2. February 20, 2011 6:59 am

    Ooh they look so good in their coconutty blankets :).

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    February 21, 2011 12:18 am

    Ooohh just found your blog! I’m from Cali as well 🙂 What a rainy wknd we had, huh. Btw, I hate math too 🙂

Leave a Reply

