Skip to content

Thankful Thursday.

February 24, 2011

I’m offically dubbing Thursday as Thankful Thursday.
I feel like I’m so busy during the week, I never stop to think about what I’m thankful for. I can get so caught up in everything, sometimes I just forget. Now, every Thursday will be a reminder!

What I’m thankful for this week…..SLEEP.

Actually I’m thankful that tonight I’ll actually be able to get some. Working 9pm-6am and going to school is tough! Luckily, it only for 3 days out of every month. After overnights, I always feel like my body hates me. Lack of sleep and random eating patterns do me no good.

I used to be one of the crazies who never slept. I would pull all nighters a few nights a week to get ahead on homework. It was nuts. Sleeping for only 3 or 4 hours became the norm for me. After a while though I was paying for it. Now I sleep for about 6.5-7 hours. That may seem like it’s low still, but any more then that I feel groggy all day. There is such a thing as too much sleep, but it is different for everyone. In college getting a full 7-9 hours of sleep a night is laughable. It just isn’t done. Here are some tips to help you get into a better sleeping pattern……

-Establish consistent sleep and wake schedules, even on weekends

I usually go to be about 10-11pm, and wake up at 5am.
-Sleep on a comfortable mattress and pillows
I love my bed….so comfy.
-Finish eating at least 2-3 hours before your regular bedtime
This may not be the case for some people, but I always feel like I fall asleep so much faster if my tummy isn’t as full.
-Exercise regularly during the day or at least a few hours before bedtime
😀
-Avoid caffeine and alcohol products close to bedtime and give up smoking
-Duh. Duh. and Duh.

Now onto some eats….

Some Banana Bread Muffins & Tofu Frosting a la Katie

New obsession….sticking any type of frozen fruit in the food processor. So Simple, So Good.

Banana

Raspberries

Blueberries

Hope you enjoyed your thursday:)

What are you thankful for?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 4:41 am

    WOAH yes for the frozen fruit in a processor!.. I love your tips!! you wake up so so early- wow!. im thankful for my WRAP IM EATING RIGHT NOW.. IT IS epic and i cnt wait to share on my blog 😀

  2. February 26, 2011 5:49 pm

    I’m thankful for it having been warm enough this week for me to take a long walk outside!! it definitely preserved my sanity!
    I should start blogging about my daily thankfulnesses- what a great idea, thanks!

    • February 26, 2011 8:43 pm

      I live in the city so I walk everywhere, but I know what you mean….sometimes its so nice to take a long walk, it’s very peaceful:)

Trackbacks

  1. A Serious Case of the Warm-Fuzzies « Moves 'N Munchies

Leave a Reply

