Skip to content

It ain’t east being green…..

February 27, 2011

What a weekend….

Okay, so it wasn’t that exciting. We can just pretend it was! 🙂
This morning I enjoyed some delish morning oats, as per usual.

Then I went on a nice little run. I have basically completely been off track from the running plan I was following. It was to “train-ey” for me. Since all I wanted was to get back into running, I’ve kinda let it go. Now I’m kinda doing a run-by-song workout. Today it was 5 songs. I want to just add a song every week!

After my run I wanted something cold (even though it was 38* out)! I decided banana soft serve would be yummy. Then I had the idea ever to put peanut flour in the food processor along with it. BEST IDEA EVER!

Then I had such a good wrap!

Lettuce, Homemade Spinach Hummus, 1/2 Avocado….all wrapped up and toasted. SO GOOD!
I also served it along with some kiwi, to keep it green.

Which brought me to inspiration for 7 reasons this week!

Recently I watched the documentary Tapped. It’s about water bottle production. I’m never touching a bottle of water again unless it’s absolutely necessary! For those who don’t feel like watching the documentary (though you should), here are some points that stuck out to me.

7 Reasons: You shouldn’t drink bottled water.

1. Bottled water isn’t any healthier for you then tap.
Yup, it’s true! Bottled water is put through LESS testing then tap. Since it doesn’t have to cross state lines, it is exempt from FDA oversight. The government has to provide safe drinking water therefore it’s put through more tests.

2. Bottled water produces a whole lot of garbage
Heard of the pile of garbage the size of TEXAS floating in the ocean? Most of it is plastic bottles. Bottled water produces 1.4 million tons of plastic per year.


3. Those little plastic bottles?

They are made in chemical plants! They leak chemicals into your water, which then go into your body.

4. Companies are going into places and sucking up all the water
Which throws off the eco-system in that area. Plus, these trucks suck up a lot of gas.

5. Most of the time….it’s tap anyways.
They just filter it. Buy a Brita, save alotta. (bad joke, haha)

(I have this guy….)

6.We are running out of pure, natural water.
Like all things, we are greedy and taking to much from mother earth and not giving enough back.

7. You can’t carry around a cute water bottle like this if you have a plastic one in your hand….

Okay, maybe it’s not that cute….but it’s the best! This is the bottle I have and it is always with me.

Now, I’m not saying go out and stick your head under a tap and let the water flow….but buying a brita and a reusable bottle can make a difference!

Hope you enjoyed!
WATCH TAPPED!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 4:28 am

    woohoo! i always drink tap water and bring water bottles to class! I LOVE avo + hummus wraps!

Leave a Reply

