Skip to content

Thin Mint Overnight Oats

March 3, 2011

Every year I make a to-do list rather then making new years resolutions. I can honestly say….this year I for got about mine, until I read Carrie’s post this morning. I decided to do some digging though my lappietop and I found it! I’m actually doing really good!

1. de-clutter my life (apartment, clothes, friends, computer…..everything)
Check I think I have to do it again sometime soon though! 

2. learn to save & budget money (save 1/4 of every paycheck, stop spending money on unneeded things. creates clutter!) 

Eh, I need to work on this
3. attain a 4.0 and maintain 

Check. 😀
4. workout at least 3x a week (focus on toning core & arms)
Check. Plus, I started training for a 10k
5. start dancing again (1 class a week, or if super busy 1 e/o week) 
I’ve only gone to 3 or 4 pickup classes this year :/
6. write more (start blog)

Check!
7. get an internship 

I’m trying!
8. eat less candy, eventually eliminating from diet altogether (minus dark chocolate)
Check!
9. focus on making fruit & veggies 75% of diet
Check!
10. read radcliffe rivals 100 best novels 

I’ve read a few this year….I keep getting distracted with other books!
11. take time to appreciate the simple things
Check. 
12. Learn French
This needs some work.

Hm…so I say for it only being March, I’m doing pretty darn good!

I’ve been doing some serious foodgawking lately (thanks Lauren for the term!), and yesterday not one but TWO recipes from Chef Katelyn made an appearance in my meals.
First up…..

Carrot Cake Quinoa
Topped with nut butter….because it goes with everything, duh….


Janky Bento Box? Si, because I hate when my Easy Crisps get smushed in my bag! Also along for the ride are some carrots & brussel sprouts (does anyone else take brussel sprouts with you to class? did you get the same funny stares at me?!) I also threw in 1/2 an avocado for some dippage.

No day would be complete without snacks…

Homemade Thinmint Bar+An Orange.
I’m on a bit of an orange kick lately. I finished a 10 pound bag in under a week, haha.

Before I left for school, I needed a pick-me-up so I had one of Katie’s Raw Mint Chocolate Chip Shakes

Hit the spot.

When I got home I decided to try Katelyn’s Cauliflower Rice Primavera

Instead of leaving the tomatoes chunky, I popped them in the food processor.
Seriously, next to oats and coconut butter, this could be one of my new favorite foods.

Now for the reason this post is all kinds of amazing…my breakfast this morning…..

THIN MINT OVERNIGHT OATS!

SO GOOD! I’ve been on a thin mint craz lately, but I think I’m going to make overnight oats for all my favorite girl scout cookies. Look out for those recipes!

Thin Mint Overnight Oats
1/2 Cup Rolled Oats
2 Tbsp. Chia Seeds
1 Mashed Up Banana (optional)
1 Tbsp. Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
2 Drops Mint Extract (or peppermint, I only had mint)
1 1/2 Cup Vanilla Almond Milk

Mix together all ingredients, add in the Almond milk and let sit overnight in the fridge. In the morning pull out and add a huge spoonful of Dark Chocolate Dreams. Devour!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 1:09 pm

    YUM! i NEED MINT EXTRACT_ GAHH!!!!!!! seriously you are ROCKING your to-do list!

  2. March 3, 2011 6:47 pm

    I love Thin Mint cookies, so I know i will love your oatmeal recipe!

  3. Heather @ kissmybroccoli permalink
    March 11, 2011 7:49 am

    Hey there! Just found you through Carrie’s blog. Love all your eats and the DIY bento!

    I am so all over those thin mint oats! I have a bottle of mint extract that I’ve een meaning to do something with!

    • March 11, 2011 8:48 pm

      Glad you found me, and thanks! 🙂

      Do it! They are so good. Little warning though….they are addicting, haha.

Leave a Reply

