Skip to content

Solving this one like Nancy Drew…..

March 10, 2011

Lately, something has been off. There is something in my diet that isn’t making my body too happy! A couple of months ago, I started get bloated really bad, along with some cramps about once a week. Since then, every week it would progressively get worse. It has built up now that its pretty much once everyday. No bueno my friend, no bueno. Instead of having to go all the way home for a drs. appointment, I’m just gonna try to solve this one myself. Nancy Drew Style!

Of course Nancy would start off with a little research…..I surveyed the web, looking for some instruction on where to start. Seemed like the simple solution is a Elimination Diet. Which is basically a Detox Diet. Bleh, I hate saying that. Diet and Detox are just two words I really hate. People have twisted and abused them so much that I usually give them a negative connotation. So I’ll be calling this a Detoxification Period. There, that sounds much better then Detox Diet, right?

I’ve found a simple list of foods that I can eat from each group, and those I should avoid. It’s from the Clean diet. No way I’m following that though! Two shakes and One meal a day? Homeboy is trippin! It don’t mind the list of what I should avoid, but it does take away some of my favorites! Like bananas It’s because of their high sugar content. It’s okay though, because I know I will see them in my morning oats soon enough! Gotta get me some gf oats too.

Today I also decided to track my eats….I usually take pictures but this time I wrote down what time and how I felt after eating. I really don’t know how people do this everyday….even writing down is bothersome. I did however learn a few things from my one day study.

1) I overeat at almost every meal
2) Something is not making me feel good
3) I mindlessly eat peanut butter/nut butters in general
4) I have a lot of sweets
5) I probably have too much caffeine
6) I got some work to do to figure this thing out!

Here is my journal for the day:
(I woke up at 4 and couldn’t go to bed. About 5 hrs of sleep)

4:15 Hot water w/ Lemon
4:45 Green Tea
5:00-5:15 Overnight Oats
1/2 cup Rolled Oats
2 T. Chia Seeds
1 T. Peanut Flour
1/2 T. Caco Powder
1 1/2 cup Almond Milk
1 T. Peanut Butter
Not really that hungry, just wanted to be able to digest a little before I had to workout. After finishing I say my hunger is about a 9.5. I’m almost too full.
6:15-7:00 30 Min Elliptical Intervals 30+Light Stretch
7:24 2 Socca Bites and Water+Cup Green Tea
Not really hungry, post-workout snack
9:00 Black Coffee
11:15 Coconut Water
12:30 Left over Brown Rice & Coconut Curry Veggies
Starving, about 15 minutes serious belly bloat and cramps.
Started feeling sleep 1:22, maybe because of food (or 4am wtf wakeup)
1:25 Chocolate Socca Bite w/ Hazelnut Butter+1 spoonful pb
Feeling snacky, stomach still kinda cramps
Green Tea
1:30-2:15 Nap
2:25 Chocolate Socca Bite w/ Hazelnut Butter
Feeling Snacky
3:00 Mint Green Monster
Not really hungry but needed fuel until dinner
7:15 Cauliflower Rice w/ Home made pasta sauce
Not starving, ate until just full, almost overate
7:30 2 Chocolate Socca Bites w/ Agave & Hazelnut Butter
Not hungry, but craving chocolate. So good, but officially over ate
7:30-8:30 4 spoonfuls of Homemade Almond Cherry Butter
The jar was next to me. Not hungry. So fulll. Blechh.

I got some work cut out for me……tomorrow is day 1. Yikes spikes.

I’m gonna get to the bottom of this!
Letter to my body before all this begins…..
Dear Body,

I am making a commitment to finding out what is causing you to feel yucky. I pinky promise I will do my best not to fail you, and to make you feel happy and energized. You deserve it!

Love,
Hannah

Do you like Nancy Drew?
What would you do if you were in my shoes?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 4:25 am

    woohoo! i cnt wait to see how it goes for you girlie!! i love finding out things like this an di cnt wait to see all your eats!

Leave a Reply

