Skip to content

7 Reasons: To be happy.

March 13, 2011

This past week has been crazy. The loss of a friend, a devastating earthquake, the threat of a Tsunami, not to mention the start of finals week. My mom, in true Mama Bear fashion managed to tell me what I needed hear exactly when I needed it (how does this woman always know?). I woke up this morning with an e-mail from her with a single quote……
“If ever there is tomorrow when we’re not together, there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart. I’ll always be with you. – Winnie the Pooh”
Thanks Mama Bear:)

With all of these dark times, finding reasons to be happy can be difficult. Actually it isn’t that difficult, it’s hard to push away the negative and find the positive inside. Which is why I did 7 reasons a little different this week. I wrote down a reason to be happy on a post-it, and put it on my window. It was a nice reminder for me to keep it positive….no matter the circumstance.

7 Reasons: To be happy.







I haven’t posted any eats in a while! Mostly, because they have been basically the same meals over and over, haha. I’m so busy with school, so it’s just easier to eat what I know I like and is easy. So far so good on my detox. I haven’t had any bad tummy aches in 2 days! I can’t wait to see how I feel in the next couple of weeks!

Here are some of the things I’ve been eating…..

Quinoa-Hummus-Raisin-Balsamic Bowl, a la Katelyn
Ran outta quinoa? No worries.

I crossed 2 of Katelyns creations…..Cauliflower Rice+Hummus-Raisn-Balsamic Bowl. Bomb. Thanks Katelyn for being a genius.

Now time for some of my genius recipes……

What is that you ask?

Only my new addiction….

Coconut Chocolate Socca Bites……

Chocolate Socca
Makes about 14 Socca Bites
1 cup garbanzo bean flour
1/4 cup unsweetened cacao powder
1 tsp sea salt
1 1/2 cups water
1 tsp Agave (add more if you like really sweet stuff. I prefer these to be a bit bitter, so I can add agave syrup to the finished product!)

Preheat over to 375*. Mix together all dry ingredients, then the agave. Slowly add the water to the mixture. Pour into muffin tins, filling about 1/4 of the way. Bake for about 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool, then place in fridge.

Coconut Filling
1 1/2 Tbsp. Coconut Flour
3 Tbsp. Almond Milk

This is super easy to make. Like super easy. Mix together flour and almond milk until desired thickness. The thinner it is the less grainy it will taste. I personally like it more textured.

Coconut Chocolate Socca Bites
Take 2 chocolate socca bites out of the fridge. Sandwich the filling in between the two. Squeeze some agave over it. Finish with some coconut butter (which will harden like magic shell!) and some cinnamon. Devour.
Ahhh….they are so good.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 6:12 am

    OMG I LOV EYOUR NUMBER 7!!! so agreed
    and okay i must try that quinoa creation of katelyns.. im just a little skeptical! LOVE THESE SOCCA BITES!

  2. March 15, 2011 3:31 am

    Aww poor you! 😦 But I LOVE your positivity and reasons to be happy!!

    And those socca bites look AMAZING you’re a GENIUS!! 😀

  3. March 15, 2011 4:48 pm

    So sorry about the loss of your friend. I love the amount of positivity you have! Keep it up girlfriend 🙂 I just stumbled upon your blog. I absolutely love it, and I’m definitely a new follower 🙂

Leave a Reply

