Skip to content

7 Reasons: I need the spring back in my step.

April 4, 2011

Looks like spring break has spung all over me. While I pride myself as being an optimist, someone who is always smiling, someone is always a source of constant positive energy……sometimes I’m just not. Rather then ignore what I’m really feelin’ here, I’m gonna recognize my feelings and blog about them in a non-depressing manner that while hopefully help me to banish this slump I’m in.

As much as I would like to say I’m a stranger to these feelings, I’m not. Ironically, I usually get them at the end of breaks from school. Not because I’m sad they are ending, but because without school I feel like I’m no accomplishing much. Therefore it makes me kinda get depressed. No matter how much I try to prevent it, it just happens. So because I missed it yesterday…
1. School starts on Friday!
Finally the day is coming, but it can’t get here fast enough. I believe I have 2 classes on Friday, and I CAN’T wait to get my hands on some new stuff to work on. A new quarter also means some new school supplies. I live to school supply shop. I love it almost as much as grocery shopping (almost).

2. Sleep
Lack of sleep has seriously been a problem! I was used to sleeping with city sounds, then I went home where it’s so quiet. Now my body craves the quiet and it gets sirens and drunken ramblings all night long. I need to go stock up on some of these……  3. Workouts
They have been lacking. The ones that I do, aren’t as great as they could be. Since I’m training, this is the opposite of what I should be doing… 4. Food Rut
I’m in sort of a food rut right now. Or maybe everything just looks boring because of all the fun stuff I ate at home. Lots of oats…..
Lot’s of Kaitlyn’s Quinoa-Hummus-Basalmic-Raisin Bowls. DIY Popped Amaranth CerealSpinach w/ Hummus in a GF Brown Rice Tortilla
Made this buckwheat bake to cheer myself up….
I’d be lying if I said it didn’t help…..
5. It’s sunny!
Sunny weather means dresses and should make me happier! I need to get my butt outside and enjoy it. I took this the other day at the park…..I love how surrel the city looks!

6. I don’t wanna share my attitude.
I love being a happy person and sharing my happiness! Making people laugh is one of my favorite things to do. Attitudes are contagious, and this is one I don’t wanna share.

7. I can avoid writing posts like this….
I’m hoping this post doesn’t seem depressing, or makes anyone feel like I’m a winey baby or a Byouknowtherestoftheword. That wasn’t my intent. Just wanted to let ya’ll know if my posts don’t seem as uppity as usual, the funk I’m in is why.

Now off to work an overnight, hopefully a night working with friends and very long sleep after will get me back to my happy place:)

Do you ever get in weird slumps?+How do you fix it?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 7:31 am

    i was in a weird slump last week… i was in a food rut, i was overall just a bit down.. i was unmotivated and everything.. i think cuz of my foot injury .. it just brought me down.. i just kept pushing through thought and i by the weekend i felt a lot better!

  2. April 5, 2011 1:42 pm

    I was in a weird slump last week too!! I just felt like I needed to break out of something. I don’t know what it was but it seems to be lifting. Just make sure to tune into what you need for yourself. Eat good food, do good things and think good thoughts. Talk with people who make you feel good and maybe journal, if you do that? Always good to reflect and not just push your feelings down!

    • April 6, 2011 4:16 pm

      I’m glad your starting to get into better spirits now! I agree with the reflecting thing! Sometimes I’ll journal, or write short stories about what I’m feeling. It usually helps:)

  3. mikka permalink
    August 18, 2011 3:31 pm

    that buckwheat bake looks heavenly, i’m salivating just looking at it, mind sharing the recipe?

Leave a Reply

