Skip to content

Little College Vegan’s: Tips on How to deal with Anti-Vegans.

April 11, 2011

Happy Monday!

Today I wanna talk about one of the biggest struggles I have being vegan, which is the “why?” factor from people. I absolutely love being vegan, but I don’t necessarily prance around pushing my ideas down peoples throat (I’ve met people who do this, it even annoys me). Throw in the fact that I can’t eat gluten and don’t eat soy products either, and I sound super picky (but I’m not!). I respect the choices of my family and friends to eat meat and other animal products, but sometimes others don’t really understand my choice to be vegan. Luckily, my family is super supportive (they even let me cook them vegan meals when I’m at home!) my problem comes with friends and strangers.

Sometimes I get verbally attacked for my lifestyle choice and it isn’t cool! A lot of people (especially college students) don’t really understand veganism, which is a sad thing!

Next time someone is giving you a rough time for being vegan, follow these tips….Explain to them the following:
>>1. Ethical Reasons: Animals are mammals, just like us. They have a heart, brains, eyes…..although they aren’t as advanced as we are. An animal is an animal. We are animals, so are they. Inside it just doesn’t feel right to kill them for pleasure just because they cant defend themselves against us.
>>2. The Meat/Food Industry (my biggest one!): Our food industry is foul. I get so worked up talking about this just because it makes me so angry that they put all of these ingredients in food and serve them to the public saying they are okay. They are not okay. Not only is all the packaged food pack with chemicals so is the meat. The animals are GM’ed, to the point where they are hardly animals anymore. They never see sunlight, live in shoebox, never get to expirence the world as they were meant too. It just makes me so sad and mad that not enough people care about this. (Katie did a great post on this today too! Check it out here. Plus there is a recipe for Samoa Larabars!)
>>3. Overall Health: Explain to them how much better you feel being Vegan! I know I have so much more energy and feel great pretty much ALL the time.
>>4. Finally explain to them that you respect their wishes to eat meat and animal products so they should do the same for you!

Now I’m not saying to go on a 30 minute tirade about how being vegan is obviously the right choice, but generally in these conversations there is a lot of “I still don’t get it” and more “whys?”. Covering one of these options at a time will make it seem like you are being less aggressive towards them, and still leave you with something to say when they ask why again!

After the whys are gone, I usually get “Well what do you eat then? Being vegan must be boring….”
This doesn’t look boring to me…..

My oats this morning:)
Yummy!

The vegan lifestyle, isn’t for everyone but I know I sure do love it! I believe the having to explain it to people and awkward/annoyed stares from waiters is totally worth it all.

Now onto some other stuff…..
Today I registered to be put in the random draw for this.
I wanna run the 1/2 marathon (I realllly wanted to run the full, but since my other race is 3 weeks before, I dont think that is a good idea). Cross your fingers (and your toes!) that I get picked!!!!!!!

From now on, I also want to do a music monday. I’m gonna post a song that I’m currently loving, or that is inspiring to me.
This week it’s Strip Me by Natasha Bedingfield

Great for a cardio playlist!

Do you ever have problems with people not respecting your vegan lifestyle (or any other dietary restriction?)

How was your weekend?

Whats a song you are currently loving?

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 2:30 pm

    GREAT points!! i ususally stick with one or two reasons.. mainly health and ethical.. and ppl are always so interested in it actuallly! they are like.. woah thats cool.. but the what do you eat comment makes me cringe!! altho i must say a few years ago way before i found blogs i probably would hhave thought the same..

  2. Renée permalink
    April 11, 2011 9:21 pm

    In high school I had a bit of a hard time from other students for being a vegetarian (I live in a rural area…lots of meat-and-potatoes families), but for the most part now, people leave me alone about it. Every now and then my family will make a snarky remark thinking they’re being funny, but life goes on.

    • April 13, 2011 2:15 pm

      That must have been hard! I lived by the beach in Cali so I think there was a bit more of an understanding there. My parents are really understanding, but sometimes my little brother will make comments like “hey hannah….can you eat this?” and pick up something stupid like a banana or an apple. He also claims that all vegan cooking/baked goods suck yet some how overnight if I bake something at home, they are all gone in the morning. His room is right by the kitchen, haha.

  3. April 11, 2011 9:51 pm

    Hot damn, your food looks delish. Also I think I’ve played that song about a hundred times* since I opened this post in my google reader.
    I’ve been really lucky to have people respect my food (er, world, really, but let’s just simplify and say “food”) views for the most part. Of course, sometimes people just want to feel like they’re right even though they don’t have any valid points to back them up, but you can’t let those people get to you. If I did then I might go insane.
    My weekend was pretty good. I had to study for a final that I had today, and I have a whole week until my next one so today was a bit of a slack day.
    Other than the song you just posted, I’ve been loving this song:

    His other videos are hiiiilarious.

    *slight exaggeration

    • April 13, 2011 2:12 pm

      I might be singing that song at my graduation, haha:)
      Ohh finals, good luck girl. I just started a new quarter and it looks like its gonna be intense!

  4. applesnoats permalink
    April 12, 2011 10:52 am

    awesome point!!!!everyone always asks me if i only eat carrots and celery….if they only knew haha!!!
    ps.this song is smazing!

    • April 13, 2011 2:17 pm

      I actually have gotten the response “So what do you eat, dirt?” multiple times. Then they are shocked when they find out I can clean out a jar and a half of pb in a week:) haha.

      I know isn’t it. Its really motivating/inspirational.

  5. April 12, 2011 7:31 pm

    Fabulous tips! I tell people “I don’t eat that. deal with it!” and usually tell the waiters I “CANNOT HAVE… blah blah blah please and thank you so so much!” =) I’ll have to try the ethics card more ❤

    • April 13, 2011 2:18 pm

      Hahha quick and to the point! I usually start with the food industries, because that is what usually hits close to home with people.

  6. April 15, 2011 2:04 pm

    Hey! I just found your blog and I am loving it! I am too in college and it really stinks when you run into people who don’t understand veganism. I have even had boys tell me they are worried I am going to rub my vegan ways off on them. Rude. I am like you and do not put my thoughts and beliefs on others. My dad is my best friend and he loves loves loves a good cheeseburger. He respects my decision, and I respect his. Same with the rest of my family and most of my friends. Again, I love your blog, so look out for more comments from me 🙂

  7. Tricia Taylor permalink
    April 23, 2011 3:12 pm

    Yeah my boyfriend likes to bring up the photo of the vegan support group/carnavore keep being awesome a lot. I love him but sometimes i just wanna throw a box of tofu at him. I know he’s just being a smart a$$ because that is his personality. I tend to stick with the “i respect your diet respect mine please” because as much as the food industry being a biggie for me he doesn’t really care. Even the recent stuff with the E6 undercover report of animal abuse he just shrugs and says “cheese is goood” (dork) but not ready to throw the relationship towel in yet.

Leave a Reply

