Skip to content

Brownie Points

April 13, 2011

Have you ever dreaded having a hard conversation, avoiding it like the plague? Because that’s what I’m doing right now.

After 2 years of living away from home, my mom finally said I can get my own apartment. My very first, biggirlinthebigcity apartment. But first, I gotta tell my roommate that when our lease is up, I’m not planning on living with her anymore. Yikes. So to soften the blow I made brownies. If you’re gonna give bad news, might as well get some brownie points first, right?


Vegan, Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free Brownies (that don’t suck)
Makes about 5 brownies

>>1/4c. Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
1/4c. Coconut Flour
2 Tbsp. Brown Rice Flour
2 Tbsp. Buckwheat Flour
1/8 tsp. Salt (I used sea salt)
1/4 tsp. Cinnamon
1/8 tsp. Baking Soda
1/2 Frozen Banana
3 Tbsp. Coconut Oil
1.5 Tbsp.  Tahini
1/2c. Agave
1 Tbsp. Chia Seeds (ground)
1 tsp. Vanilla

>>1. Preheat oven to 375* and Thaw out a banana in microwave then mush as well as possible
2. In a small bowl combine banana, coconut oil, tahini, agave, ground chia seeds, and vanilla. Leave for about 5 minutes and let those chia seeds do their       thing…..
3. In another bowl, mix together flours, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. Add the wet mixture, and mix until well combined (it will be super thick)
4. Form into to little mounds and place in cupcake paper cups. Bake for about 7 minutes. Take out, let cool, devour.
For this one I used a PB center by mixing peanut flour, water, and tiny tiny bit stevia. Make a crater with the bottom part of the brownie, fill with mixture, then add a top. So good!

Hope you guys enjoyed that recipe, wish me luck on the roommate situation, and today is WIAW (which I will be posting tomorrow!)

Have you ever avoided talking with someone?

Do you like brownies?

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 11:10 am

    AHH LOVE THESE!! look at those little babies– ps.. you are a recipe goddess

    • April 13, 2011 2:20 pm

      I strive to one day be like Katie (donttt we all)

      & you introduced me to luscious bowls, which I eat everyday….so you are amazing!

  2. April 13, 2011 2:47 pm

    roommate situations can be sooo awkward… if you have a good relationship it should go okay though 🙂 good luck!! those brownies look bomb 🙂

  3. April 13, 2011 4:07 pm

    Brownies…..best.thing.ever! Those look great! Yay for the apartment…not for having to break bad news though 😦

  4. April 13, 2011 7:00 pm

    So in two weeks when I get home, I’m definitely making these. I’ve bookmarked so many other recipes that I want to make healthier, like by taking out wheat flour and sugar, so it’s nice to have one that’s already done it for me. I love the fact that they’ve got cooked/melted banana in them too. Cooked/melted/whatever banana is THE BEST THING EVER. K, maybe not the best, but it’s definitely up there, along with brownies. Have you tried the ones from The Kind Diet? Every time I make them, non-vegans are always amazed at how dark and rich they are. Brb, I’ve gotta go get something to pick up the drool accumulating on my laptop from just thinking about them.
    Also, I’m probably the most socially awkward person ever so I tend to avoid talking to people in tough situations as long as possible. The longer you put it off, the harder it gets. I’ve gotta say, though, that I’ve never tried it with brownies. Duly noted.

    • April 13, 2011 7:54 pm

      No but I’ll have to look up the recipe for those! I lovveee melted banana too. In oats…ah, it’s amazing, haha.
      It’s also hard because we are really good friends and I don’t want it to effect our friendship:/

  5. April 16, 2011 5:27 am

    Haha! LOVE the addition (that don’t suck)! It’s definitely hard to find a brownie recipe that is somewhat healthy and doesn’t taste like a slice of cardboard! I’ll have to give these a try!

    Good luck with the “talk.” I have such a hard time with confrontation…I avoid convos and sugar coat so much that most of the time, I just have to break down and tell it how it is (and feel my face get red while doing so)!

  6. April 16, 2011 11:29 am

    Wowza these look so good! This recipe looks right up my alley. Yum.
    I just found your blog, so glad I did 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. What I ate Wednesday…. |

Leave a Reply

