Skip to content

Burnin’ down the house…..

April 16, 2011

Today has just been one of those days…..

You know the days when you accidentally kick something so hard at work you may have broken your toe…..(my foot slipped, I wasn’t angry, haha)

Or you almost burn down your apartment…..
That is what happens to quinoa when you put it in the microwave without any water. I seriously cant believe I did this! All of a sudden I smelt something burning in my apartment and I thought it was the scones I was baking. It never even crossed my mind that it was the quinoa until I saw my microwave filled with smoke!
Dinner of course had to be something I didn’t need the microwave for. I’m scared to use it now!
Lazy Girl Black Bean Soup
>>1 can black beans
2 tbsp. Hummus
1 tbsp. Balsamic Vinger
Pinch nooch
Raisins

This can hardly be called a recipe, more of a creation. It was actually really good though! I had it along side of my new favorite…
 >>1 Toasted GF English Muffin
1 tbsp Hummus
Avocado
Nooch

Mmmmm this is so yummy! You need to try it!

This is also one of those days where you realize you might have a vitamin deficiency .

These past few days I’ve been extremely tired (no matter how much coffee or sleep I’ve gotten), I’ve been having trouble breathing (I feel like I cant get enough air), my heart has been feeling like it’s beating funny, and I’ve been super forgetful (this isn’t me at all, I’m always on top of my game! Hello, quinoa accident.)

Naturally I turned to the internet to try to figure out whats up…..this time I found something that actually fits. B-12 Deficiency, Which can cause pernicious anaemia.

What are the symptoms of this type of anaemia? (Source.)
If a person is otherwise healthy, it can take some time for the signs of anaemia to appear.

  • The first symptoms will be tiredness and palpitations (awareness of heartbeat).
  • Shortness of breath and dizziness (fainting) are also common.
  • If the anaemia is severe, it can result in angina (chest pain), headache and leg pains (intermittent claudication).
  • Red, sore tongue and mouth.
  • Weight loss.

I’d say a fair amount of those fit. Since I’m vegan, my B-12 levels are super low. Add to that the fact I haven’t been taking my vitamins…..I think I found my problem. I’m going to start taking them, and hopefully in a few days I’ll feel better. If not….to the dr’s I go.

Now, I’m gonna take a nap and then go over to my best friends for movie night. I’ll also give her the scones I burnt while I was worried about the quinoa burning. She’ll love me for it:)

Do you ever have “those” days?

What are your weekend plans?

Whatya think, B-12 deficiency or me just being paranoid?  

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2011 7:47 pm

    If you’ve only been off your vitamins for a few days, you may just be being paranoid. I dont think B12 gets out of the system THAT fast.
    But, I’m always an advocate of getting your blood levels checked if you’re veg*n just to make sure you’re eating right.

    • April 16, 2011 8:13 pm

      It’s been a while since I took them, at least 3 months….I had to hunt the bottle down for 45 minutes. They were under my bed in a suitcase, haha.

  2. applesnoats permalink
    April 16, 2011 7:48 pm

    I had a really severe b12 deficiency early this year….it’s no fun at all!!!lluckily after a month of taking more vitamins I started to feel a little better and now I’m like brand spankin new 🙂
    Hope you start feeling better

  3. April 17, 2011 12:39 am

    Poor quinoa! I love the black bean creation though. And I looove avocado toast; will have to try it with nooch! I just bought some yesterday. Also since I started eating less meat I’ve been taking B12 and everything seems to be fine. Of course I still occasionally have those kinda days but I think everyone does!

  4. April 17, 2011 5:46 am

    i LOVE your DIY black bean soup!!!! so yummy!!! YYESS i take a vegan multivitamin whcih has B12 as well as a B12 supplement- so i get tons!

  5. April 17, 2011 12:03 pm

    Aw I hope you start feeling better! AFAIK B12 takes awhile to deplete in your system and actual deficiencies aren’t super common… plus i think most brands of nooch have b12 in them. still a possibility though 🙂 I always have isseus with being super tired and have had millions of blood tests done and they can never find anything wrong with m elol (which is actually kinda annoying!)

    Iron could also be something to look into?

  6. April 17, 2011 4:14 pm

    hmmmm…..you could have low B12 or it could be iron. Do you have cracks at the corners of your mouth? mouth ulcers? These suggest low iron, as do a pale tissues on the inside of the lower eyelids. Burning mouth/tongue and nerve-related problems can be related to b12 deficiency. read my post on maca….i feel it might be helpful to u aty this time 🙂
    Both deficiencies can lead to breathlessness and fatigue xx

Leave a Reply

