Skip to content

Intuitive Eating & Granola Crack.

April 21, 2011

I’ve always been really intrigued with the idea of intuitive eating, but I’ve never really given it a try myself. Of course I know when I’m hungry, to eat, and when I’m full to stop, but I’ve never looked beyond those two things until yesterday morning.

After I had tried out my breakfast smoothie, and wasn’t too happy with what I ended up with, I ate a muffin. Then another. Then about 45 minutes later, I ate an english muffin with nooch. For whatever reason, I still was hungry (note: when I was dealing with disordered eating, I never was binger so this isn’t really a relapse or anything). Finally, I stopped myself and though “okay seriously, stop. don’t eat your way through the kitchen because you aren’t really hungry.” I forced myself to think about what my body was craving or what nutrient it was missing. Obviously I was eating all this food to fill some sort of gap. I finally figured out what it was and of course promptly gave it to myself. It was a banana. Finally I was satisfied. Maybe it’s because I had just eaten a lot of food in only about and hour in a half, but I like to think it was the banana. I had a mini-foodie revelation. Okay, maybe it isn’t really a revelation more of an idea that has been around forever and I just chose to ignore, but now I know to pay close attention to my cravings. Not to just eat something because its easy or available, but fill my body with whats asking for. And, to always eat a banana with breakfast.

Reading that out loud makes me feel like I’m sounding a little crazy….maybe it’s all the Granola Crack I’ve been eating lately.
Granola Crack
>> 1/2c. Oats
1 Tbsp. Nut Butter (I used TJ’s Almond Butter w/ Flax Seeds)
1 Tbsp. Chia Seeds
1 Tbsp. Coconut Oil
2 Tbsp. Agave
1/4 Tbsp. Vanilla
1 Tbsp. Chocolate Chips

Preheat oven to 325*
Mix together the oats a chia seeds. In a seperate bowl mix together Oil, Agave , Vanilla, & Nut Butter. Add the mixture to the oats and stir until all the oats are covered.
Grease a baking pan, and lay mixture out. Bake for about 5 minutes, then mix it up a bit and then let it cook for about 5 more. (I used a toaster oven, so cooking times may very depending on what type of oven you have)
Take it out and mix in chocolate chips. If you want you chocolate chips to be whole I suggest waiting a bit before you add them in. I like em’ melty so I tossed them in right away.
Wait until cool then enjoy (I didn’t and burnt my tongue. Whoops.)

Why the name Granola Crack? Well, One: Its a little bit of everything. Two: It’s VERY addicting.
 Have you ever had a food revelation?

Do you like granola? 

Do you eat intuitively? 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 5:27 pm

    I am working on intuitive eating too! It should be more intuitive. It sounds so simple but I get hunger confused with random craving I can’t figure out or confused with boredom. That granola does look addictive by the way so I agree on all counts with this post!

  2. April 21, 2011 5:30 pm

    I have issues with intuitive eating because I can’t always tell what I’m craving, and a lot of times I crave something, eat it, then move on to craving something else lol. Especially at night for some reason… Bu tI do like the idea and I think I’m getting better with practice 😉

    That granola looks BOMB. I love that it’s a smaller batch than most 🙂 Will definitely have to try it some time!

  3. applesnoats permalink
    April 21, 2011 6:07 pm

    i really need to work on listening to my body and it’s cravings….alot of the times i end to eat because i’m bored or have a craving when i’m not really hungry at all!hopefully ill start catching on soon..

  4. April 21, 2011 10:27 pm

    hey!!! i am sooo happy i stumbled across your blog! you are way too cute! and also, i’m from the bay area originally!! im out in boston for college but im prob gonna be living in san fran or berkeley this summer!

    and im also working on intuitive eating actually! im reading through the book right now and its interesting to me because i dont think i even realized that i do have rules about food until i read it… i think i still categorize foods as good or bad even though in general i eat when im hungry, but i think i just need to let go and be good to myself! health is way more than just physical, its emotional and spiritual and mental too!

  5. April 22, 2011 3:22 am

    I haven’t been having whole grains for brekky that often recently, and I’ll usually just have some fruit instead since I have lunch so early and don’t really get that hungry anyways, but every time I do have whole grains like oatmeal for brekky I always feel sooo much better. Only five days until I get home to my two pound bag of oats and numerous jars of nut butters.
    Also the reason I remembered this whole grains in the morning is because I had oatmeal from the caf today, and there were chocolate chips, peanut flour and shredded coconut inside. I sliced a banana on top and oh my peas was it ever delicious. Like, best thing I’ve eaten all week delicious (though that will probably change tomorrow because I finally got my sweet potatoes! Yay)
    I’m kind of trying to get more into intuitive eating. It’s so sad to see people who have unhealthy relationships with food, and I really don’t want to be one of them.
    Oh and granola = my love. I got a bag of Kaia foods granola today and I may or may not have finished almost half of the bag for dins. It’s soooo good and it was on sale because most of the bags were kind of crunched up. Not a big deal for me because it still tastes the same =)

  6. April 22, 2011 3:45 am

    Hooray for intuitive eating! It is something that I try to be mindful of EVERY day or else I get off track. Definitely takes a bit of work. Umm also I wish I had all the ingredients for that granola because it looks perfect!!

  7. April 22, 2011 3:59 am

    i definitley try to eat intuivitely! before every meal i ask myself what im feeling like.. and i eat it!!
    oh i LOVE your granola!!!!

    ps.. sorry for these typos!

  8. April 22, 2011 2:36 pm

    I’ve never been very good at intuitive eating, I eat when I am bored too often :-/

    That granola looks SO good! Definitely saved in my to-make folder!

  9. April 22, 2011 4:07 pm

    great post! i might give this whole intuitive eating thing a try rather than just grabbing the first thing I find in the cupboard when I’m hungry! i’ll post about my experiences too!

Trackbacks

  1. Fun Facts & Soup. |

Leave a Reply

