Skip to content

Fun Facts & Soup.

April 22, 2011

Happy Good Friday/Earth Day! I’m glad I’m not the only one who needs work on intuitive eating! I’m going to actually start to work on it though, so I’ll keep you up to date on how that’s going.

I always love reading random facts about ya’ll so I thought I’d share some fun facts about me:)

Five Friday Fun Facts (check out the alliteration on that)

1. I was a cheerleader in high school.
 Teaching cheer camp was always my fav!

2. I am a cinnamon hoarder.
After I took this,this morning I covered it in more cinnamon, then after I ate the nanners, I topped it with more, stirred, then topped it with more. ITS JUST SOOOO GOOD!

3. I did musical theatre from the time I was 5-18This was for Seussical. I was mayzie la bird. Out of all the roles I’ve played this one one of my favorites. Not just because she has fun songs, but because I had a HUGE nest I had to sit on that was 10 ft in the air. I had to have fly cables to get onto it! (and check out how fly I look in my padded bird suit and feather boas. swag.)

4. My nose is pierced.
If you look past my wayyy to happy smile, you can see my nose ring. I never really wear it anymore.

5. I am pro at climbing trees.
This is me getting TP out of the tree in high school. One of the downsides of being a cheerleader and living down the street from a football players house, my house was always getting TP’d. It was really annoying, but at least now I know if I ever need to climb a super tall tree, I can!

Friday happenings:
I had OIAJ this morning:) This mix left me full for 5 full hours. Kinda like a world record.
What’s in the jar
>>1/3c. GF Oats
2 Tbsp. Buckwheat Groats
2 Tbsp. Chia Seeds
1 Tbsp. Peanut Flour
2/3 Banana
Lots of Cinnamon
1c. Unsweetened Almond Milk
Left overnight in a jar with about 1 tbsp. Almond Butter left.
Topped with the rest of the banana and more cinnamon in the morning.

Today was grocery shopping day, and honestly this was the first time I ever went and actually got frustrated about my dietary restrictions.
For starters, they didn’t have my oats. They had the gluten free quick oats but not the rolled. Grrrrr. Luckily I’m going home for easter and the whole foods there should have some.

Second, I realllllly wanted soup.  Ever since I saw Mama Pea’s post for this soup, I’ve had a crazy intense cravings for some. Or just any soup really. Since I don’t have a stove, making soup seemed kinda outta the question. So when I was grocery shopping I looked for a canned soup that I could maybe spruce up. There was literally no soups I could eat. If it was gluten free, it wasn’t vegan. If it was vegan, it wasn’t gluten free. If it was both gluten free, and vegan, it had sugar in it. Finally I just said forget it I’ll make my own, so I grabbed some veggie broth , and I did.

Easy-Peasy-VeggieQuinoa-Soup
>>1c. Veggie Stock
1/3c. Quinoa
1/3c. Frozen Peas
1/3c.  Green Beans
1/3c. Chickpeas
Handfull of Baby Carrots
Handfull of Spinach
Spices (I used TJ’s everyday spice)

Note: This is a microwave heavy soup.

Place Quinoa in the microwave, with 2/3 cup water. Cover and cook for 10 minutes (or make it however you usually do.)
Take Quinoa out of the microwave and set aside.
Combine all the veggies in a steamer and top with some spices. Pop em’ in the microwave and steam for 6 minutes.
Take out and set aside. Place veggie broth in a large bowl and microwave for about a minute, add quinoa, and veggies. Stir it up and if it isn’t hot enough microwave for another minute.
Told ya’ it was microwave heavy. But it was SO good. I topped it with about a Tbsp. of nooch after I took this. I was actually surprised at how full I was from this. That still didn’t stop me from having one of these guys though….
Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars
Holy oh my goodness, these were SOOOOO good. I made them yesterday and wow. Recipe coming soon (possibly tomorrow, or monday.)
Along with lunch I drank a Zevia.
When I first had this I had the Ginger Ale Zevia, and it made me want to gag. I tried the orange last week and it was pretty yum. So was this guy.
Have a good easter weekend!  I’m off to surprise my bestie because her birthday is on easter and I wont be here. Its her 21st and I’m planning on fitting as many candles as I can onto one cupcake. Then it’s church for good friday and an early bedtime. I gotta race to run tomorrow! 🙂

What are some random/fun facts about you?

Do you like soup?

What are your easter plans?

How many candles do you think I can fit onto one cupcake?  

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2011 5:06 pm

    CINNAMON. I love it! And my nose is pierced too! Your OIAJ looks fab. I only do overnight oats in my OIAJ now and they are so tasty!

  2. Molly @ Mollyrunsfresh permalink
    April 22, 2011 5:15 pm

    You are so gorgeous girly!! I love soup, quinoa, and microwave recipes so might have to try this!

  3. applesnoats permalink
    April 22, 2011 8:21 pm

    church and then work at 10 :/ seriously..why are we open on Easter?????
    i love your tree climbing picture..it really is a skill!

  4. April 23, 2011 2:42 am

    ahah i love these fun facts!! had no idea u were a cheeerleader or had your nose pierced! i so wnt to get it done too but with my nose it would look weird…grrrr
    oh now im craving soup!!!

  5. April 23, 2011 6:59 am

    fun post! I guess some random facts about me would be that I climbed mt kilimanjaro, proposed to my husband, and played rugby through college 🙂

    I do like soup but I hardly ever chose to make or order it! 😛
    Not too much for Easter just Skyping with my fam and having dinner with friends tomorrow.

    I think the sky’s the limit on that cupcake! 🙂

  6. April 23, 2011 4:38 pm

    i really enjoyed reading this post 🙂 you made such a cute cheerleader and i lve the nose piercing 🙂

  7. April 24, 2011 10:36 am

    HAPPY EASTER SWEETIE!!

Leave a Reply

