Skip to content

Race Day Recap

April 24, 2011

Happy Easter Everyone! (Or if you don’t celebrate, Happy Sunday!)

Yesterday was great!
Got up super early for my 5k, and ate this for breakfast:
 GF English Muffin w/ Maple Almond Butter & 1/2 a Banana.

Then I packed up stuff for home…..what can I say, I’m a last minute packer.
I think I broke the record for the least amount of stuff I’ve ever packed.

I would like to take this time to make a shout out to my momma. Hey, Mom. Love You. She wanted to make sure I told you guys I managed to get us lost on our way to the race, even with map quest directions. What can I say…..I got skills.

Finish Line!
All I wanted to do was finish in under 30. I did 28.27! I was proud of myself especially since most of it was up hill. The first mile was pretty much all at an incline. That must be why they called it the nutty run.

After the race we hit up Cafe Gratitude. I took the liberty of map questing there too. (except this time, I didn’t get us lost!)
I AM HEARTY raw pizza. It was soooooo yummy!
Next we shared dessert.
It was a chocolate coconut creme cake. SO GOOD.
I want to know how to make raw food that good.
Once we got home I quickly rushed to get ready….I had a surprise birthday bonfire to go to!
Before that, I had to stop and get some stuff for today at whole foods. I also picked up some dinner.
Chippies & a Soda. So very healthy. But it was better then what they were eating at the bonfire, which was hot dogs and lays. Blech..
The beach was BEAUTIFUL (but overcast, as always)
 
The surprise was great! I hadn’t seen her in forever, so it was great to catch up.
We played some football. Naturally I dominated. Except for the part where I didn’t, haha.
Then I came home with my sweet tooth raving. There were smores at the party, obviously I couldn’t have any so I came home and ate something better. (Okay, maybe it wasn’t better. It was still good though!)
 Banana’s w/ Plain Coconut Yogurt & Vanilla Agave+1 Piece of Dark Chocolate. Mmm. Perfect way to end the night.

Anyways, I’m off to enjoy some Easter festivities. Hope everyone has a great easter/day as well:)

How was your Easter?

Do you like raw food? 

Do you pack light? 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 11:34 am

    Sounds like you had a lot of fun at the surprise party! Do your friends support your veganism, like when you can’t eat what they are eating? Thankfully, my friends and family are super supportive of my vegetarianism and always have a dish prepared or I bring one myself. My Easter is going great so far and I am the absolute OPPOSITE of a light packer… It’s awful!

    • April 25, 2011 7:58 am

      Yeah, majority of my friends are. My family is super supportive. They are all huge meat eaters, but when I’m home they always let me cook dinner for everyone (vegan of course) and they love it! My aunts, uncles, and cousins, are all very supportive too. If were going to another family members house they always make sure there is a dish for me. I’m lucky, and sounds like you are too!

      Ah, usually I am such a heavy packer. Like, it looks like I’m moving back home, haha. This time I only brought a few things. Mostly because I packed so last minute!

  2. Heather permalink
    April 24, 2011 11:47 am

    I absolutely love bonfires! I’m interested in if your friends support your food choices too. My friends and my dad have always been really great about it but my mother isn’t supportive at all. :/ And I think sometimes having chips and a soda for dinner is all right! Especially at a bonfire. 😀 Your choices looked tastier than the other things.

    I enjoy raw food, especially when it’s prepared well (obviously, hah).

    I don’t celebrate Easter, so I’m just relaxing today. & I think I’m an in-between packer. I can pack A LOT into a small suitcase but I try to be realistic about it. I do have some trouble ignoring the “what if the weather changes? what if you want to wear a different shirt? what if??!”

    • April 25, 2011 8:02 am

      They are all very supportive. Some of my friends take a few meals to get used to it, but after a while they do. My family is so supportive, even though they are big meat eaters. My little brother enjoys teasing me, but he is just being a little brother, haha.

      I always pack with the “what if?” too. This time I had no time, so basically I just threw a sundress, heels, toms, rainbows (gotta have some shoe choices, haha), tempo shorts, then my dirty leggings, and undies. Can’t pass up free laundry, haha.

  3. April 24, 2011 11:50 am

    Happy Easter, Hannah!
    How am I expected to comment on anything in this post BUT that cake? Seriously, I keep scrolling back up to it and drooling. Agh.
    I’m horrible at packing light. I like how you have three pairs of shoes, though. Someone has their priorities straight. 😉 I always overpack, though. Always. I never end up wearing half of the stuff I bring. Oh well. It’s better to be safe than sorry, right? (wrong)
    I looove raw food, but I don’t think I’d ever be able to go 100% raw. I love beans and whole grains too much, and soaking and sprouting them just isn’t the same as cooking them unfortunately. There’s this one place in Van called Gorilla Food and it’s sooo good. It’s all raw and organic and vegan, and they make amazing raw food with tons of desserts. They have this salad that has kale and seasonal veggies with this ginger avocado dressing. It is to DIE for.
    My Easter has been pretty good so far. I had the best breakfast ever, which was a papaya with soy yogurt, buckwheat granola and hemp seeds. Ah. So good. Papaya is my new favourite fruit. Le droooool =)””

    • April 25, 2011 8:05 am

      I know it was sooo good! I have to bring my toms (at least one pair), and my rainbows everywhere. They are my go-to shoes, haha. I love raw food too, but if I couldn’t cook it as good as they do all the time, I wouldn’t be able to do it. Once I got this amazballs lasagna from the same place and it might have been they best thing I’ve ever eaten.

  4. April 24, 2011 1:41 pm

    YAY FO RYOUR RACE!! wow girl your legs are AWESOME! so defined!
    umm raw food ROCKS!! that meal looks AMAZING! esp the dessert 😛

  5. April 24, 2011 3:08 pm

    I LOVE CAFE GRATITUDE! Speaking of getting lost, when we were visiting San Fran I told my mom that Cafe Gratitude was only like a ten minute walk away so we decided to walk there for lunch. Turns out it was a 3 mile walk and we had no clue how exactly to get there. Whoops! Totally worth it though- I got the tamales and my mom got the pizza!!
    Happy Easter 🙂

    • April 25, 2011 8:06 am

      Ah, that isn’t the best area too. Well depending on what part of the mission you are coming from, haha. Lots of pretty murals though.

  6. April 24, 2011 4:04 pm

    Love raw food. I’m currently borrowing my mom’s dehydrator (she 100% raw vegan) and having way too much fun!

    • April 25, 2011 8:09 am

      That so cool that your mom is raw vegan! My mom has a dehydrator too, that I full on plan on stealing from her when I get my bigger apartment next month. Make kale chips!

  7. applesnoats permalink
    April 24, 2011 4:39 pm

    congrats on your race!!!
    i absolutely love raw food but we don’t have any restaurants that serve it here 😦
    I am a horrible packer…i always overpack and tell myself that i won’t next time…never happens

    • April 25, 2011 8:11 am

      Thanks! Aw, that’s no fun. I never went to a raw restaurant before I moved away to school. Maybe when you do there will be some raw restaurants around!

  8. April 24, 2011 4:52 pm

    I just read every post on your blog over the course of 2 days…

  9. April 25, 2011 6:41 am

    way to go on your race! woop woop! i’d love to go to cafe gratitude – i have one of their recipe books 🙂 and i love it!

    • April 25, 2011 8:12 am

      Thanks! Oh, does it that the one for their lasagna? If it does and you send it to me, I wouldn’t mind;)

  10. April 26, 2011 1:28 am

    Nice job on the race!
    Were you at the cafe gratitude in Berkeley?

Leave a Reply

