Skip to content

Kevin, where are you?

May 2, 2011

Hello friends:)

How was your monday? Mine has been….okay.

I woke up early at 5:45am, naturally. I think my old sleeping patterns are starting to return! I don’t mind though, I love it when the world is quiet and I can eat my breakfast in peace, and then maybe follow up with a workout.This morning how ever I just ate breakfast and read half of Born To Run. I was gonna wait for my garmin to come in the mail (btw, I’m naming it Kevin. Some from here on out I no longer have a garmin, but a Kevin….why Kevin? I’m kinda obsessed with UP). More on that later though, back to Born To Run. I LOVE THIS BOOK! Seriously, you must read it if you love running. Some of my favorite quotes so far are:

“I keep thinking back to the way Garp used to burst out his door in the middle of the workday for a five-mile run. There’s something so universal about that sensation, the way running unites our two most primal impulses: fear and pleasure. We run when we’re scared, we run when we’re ecstatic, we run away from out problems and run around for a good time”

“Ask nothing from your running, in other words, and you’ll get more then you ever imagined”

“You had to love running, or you wouldn’t live to love anything else. And like everything else we love-everything we sentimentally call out “passions” and “desires”- it’s really an encoded ancestral necessity. We were born to run; we were born because we run. We’re all the Running People, as the Tarahumara have always known”

“….they’d never forgotten what it felt like to love running. They remembered that running was mankind’s first fine art, our original act of inspired creation”

Anyways, it’s so good! I can’t wait to finish it!

Lunch was a bowl of cookie dough in a bowl a la Fitnessista
>>1/3c. GF Oats
1 Tbsp. Peanut Butter
1/2 Banana
Bloobs
Strawberries
Cinnamon
Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

I didn’t have protein powder, but it tasted so good and was incredibly satisfying.

I waited around for Kevin, but he never came:( I checked the online tracking and it said they had been there and called but I wasn’t home. They never called which made me so mad! I called and found out I could either wait around for it tomorrow or go to a “close” fed-ex location at 7, it is a 45 minute bus drive away. Guess which option I chose? Yep, I’ll be taking a nice little bus drive around the city tonight. (EDIT: Went, and they lost it…..grrrrrr)

This incident really put to test one of my May goals…..Find the silver lining. Immediately I jumped into a negative mindset and got mad/upset when there was really nothing I could do about it. I calmed myself down and tried to think of the silver lining…..all I came up with was at least I wont have to run with all the tourists around. It’s not that big of a silver lining, but it’s a start!

It also provided me with time to help my roommate pack all her stuff because she is moving out. Which means I GET THE APARTMENT ALL TO MYSELF! I’m a little excited…..
 Me awkwardly pointing towards the boxes, and my moved bed.
(Mom if you are reading this…thankyouthankyouthankyouthankyou a million times. I love you.)

For dinner I was feeling adventurous so I had
 Oh, wait I ate the same thing for lunch. It was so good, I just had to have it twice. This time it’s a fancy photo.
_________________________________________________________

Well it has been a LONG day. Tomorrow I’m up early for a run, sans Kevin, then a full day of class and work.

Maybe if I leave some chocolate leading up to my door Kevin will find me.

Have you seen UP?

Are you good about finding the silver lining?

Have you ever had breakfast for all 3 meals of the day?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 9:32 pm

    I love ‘Up’, and cried like a baby when I first saw it. I’m horrible about finding the silver lining, I should make it the goal to always find it. And no, I’ve never had breakfast three times a day! That would be crazy. I have had oats in all the 3 meals before though.

    Sorry about Kevin! I’m actually waiting for my mom to send my new Garmin with my next care package. Such a struggle. Did you head all the way down to the South SF FedEx station? They were good with my last package but yeah, totally sketch location.

  2. May 2, 2011 10:27 pm

    I LOVE UP. I will properly read your post and respond in a more coherent fashion at a later time, I just had to say that 😉

    basically anything pixar is wonderful though ❤

  3. May 2, 2011 10:31 pm

    “I love it when the world is quiet and I can eat my breakfast in peace, and then maybe follow up with a workout.” <- Me too!!
    And hooray for finding silver linings, no matter how small 🙂

  4. May 3, 2011 3:55 am

    ahahha you are hilarious!! GRRRR THT IS SO annoying about fedex.. ! umm LOVEEEE how you had the same lunch and dinner- now i feel more normal! 😀

  5. May 3, 2011 4:20 am

    I totalllllly have breakfast for 3 meals a day sometimes 🙂 haha
    And yes, sometimes I have lunch and I want it again so i recreate it for suppper foooooor sure girl!

  6. May 3, 2011 5:54 am

    I love how you name your garmin, that’s cute. haha. And Up is a great show 🙂
    Fed ex officially sucks, I understand your anger!

  7. Elle permalink
    May 3, 2011 7:29 am

    I just found your blog and I love it! I loved ‘Up.’ I definitely cried the first time I saw it.
    I hope you get your garmin soon, that’s so exciting! 🙂 I went through a phase last week where I ate oatmeal for lunch and dinner just about everyday. It was ridiculous.

  8. May 3, 2011 8:54 am

    I love UP! I found it hilarious that the birds name was Kevin!

  9. May 3, 2011 12:50 pm

    awww it’ll be there soon! Just keep calling them 🙂

    once I had oatmeal for breakfast, lunch, dinner and a bedtime snack. I was really embracing the college experience!

  10. May 3, 2011 1:28 pm

    thanks for checking out my blog!! woo hoo! excited to follow you 🙂

    I hope Kevin gets unlost. That is seriously not the way to start out a new friendship…you know? Those oats look so delicious. I seriously and super jealous and need to make something that good pronto. I could definitely eat breakfast all the time. It is my absolute favorite. LOVE it soooo much 🙂 have a good night!

  11. May 4, 2011 10:16 am

    Yesterday my mom and I went shopping at Wal-mart. Our store is undergoing a big renovation and there aisles were scattered everywhere and it took forever to find what we were looking for. My mom was getting so frustrated and cursing wal-mart and I told her to find the silver-lining in it 🙂 We decided that one good thing that comes out of all the chaos is that our store got a new gluten-free section and has added a lot of healthier foods. Problem solved!

Trackbacks

  1. PR and a Tofu recipe. |

Leave a Reply

