Skip to content

Rant, Review, & Recipe!

May 7, 2011

Do you have any small habits that you do without even noticing you’re doing them? I do. Lots of them. The one that seems to bug everyone the most is my incessant leg bouncing. I don’t even notice that my leg seems to be bouncing at 500 bpm until someone points it out. I think it has to do with the fact that I can’t stand being still (which makes yoga difficult! I’m trying though!). I just have so much energy I need an output, and leg bouncing seems to do the trick I guess.

Anyways, yesterday after a huge grocery shopping trip I was not so kindly reminded of my little habit. I was sitting on a bench with two other people, tip tapping away with out even noticing when all of a sudden I hear

“Can you stop that leg bouncing its moving the whole bench?”
“Oh, sorry I don’t even notice I’m doing it, *giggle*”
“Well you should be because it’s annoying.”
*enter awkward pause*

The fact that she asked me stop didn’t bug me. I could see how it would be annoying, it was more her tone of voice and facial expressions. It was like I just took all her groceries and jumped on them turing them into mush then pointed at her, laughed, then ran away. (Not that, that crossed my mind or anything)

The awkwardness continues when we get on the same bus and she continues to stare at me like I was gum stuck to the bottom of her shoe. I smiled at her, which I think pissed her off even more. Then my stop come, turns out it was her stop too. I begin to walk home, and she was right in front of me. We turn up the same block, I think she thought I was following her because she looked behind her and then quickened her pace. Turns out homegirl lives in the building next to me. Hey neighbor! Maybe I should bake her cookies….or not.

Moving on to some eats from yesterday…..
This is the “I have no groceries or time to get lunch during my break” lunch.
>>Apple Pie Larabar
GF V Apple Rice Cakes
2 Plums
Banana
& Cashew Butter!

A few weeks ago I recieved a package from Premeier Organics filled with a bunch of yummy nut butter to try and review. You can see my first review here.
I was definitely a fan of the Cashini butter, so I was hopping I’d love Cashew Butter as well. I did!
It was yummy and the squeeze pack was perfect for my lunch. I could easily eat a banana with nut butter and not get messy. It was sweet and creamy. Loved it.
(disclaimer: this was my own opinion, and I’m not being reimbursed for this review)

After my grocery shopping adventure I finally had some veggies! Thank bejesus because I have been craving a salad monster for days!

Okay, I know that salad looks dinky, but for beautification purposes I wont show you my real salad which had about 2.5 huge handfuls of spinach and had to be transfer to a tupperware bowl because it was so big. It also allowed me to put a lid on and shake up my salad so all the dressing was even. chickkkkayeah.
In my salad:
>>2c. Romaine
1/2c.  Black Eyed Peas
1/2 Tomato
1 Carrot
1 Tbsp. Hummus
Salsa
TJ’s Vegan/GF Godess Dressing
+2.5 Handfuls Spinach

After that salad I was full, so I waited a little bit and had A HUGE COOKIE!
Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookie for One
(Inspired by the genius herself Chocolate Coved Katie)

>>3 Tbsp. Bobs GF Baking Flour
2 Tbsp. Coconut Flour
1/16th tsp. Baking Soda
2tsp. Vegan Margarine (pre-melted)
1/4tsp. Vanilla
A few pours Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
1 Tbsp. Vegan Chocolate Chips
1 Tbsp. Pure Maple Syrup

Preheat over to 350*. Combine all  dry ingredients, then add the wet. Mix well and place on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 8 minutes.

This was super easy, gf, and vegan. I love how all of Katie’s recipes can almost always be made GF.

And that’s the way the cookie crumbles……

(oh, and if your wondering why a lot of my recipes include coconut flour, it’s because it is 1. Gluten Free, 2. It adds some sweetness, since I don’t add processed sugar to anything, 3. I’m a co-co-nut.)

Do you have habits that you dont realize your doing?
Leg bouncing, cleaning things, making odd facial expressions, sarcasm…..the list goes on and on. Betcha wanna be my friend, huh 😉

What is your perfect salad combo? 
The one I had yesterday was pretty amazeballs. It would have been better if I added raisins and apples. Yumm. Maybe some sunflower seeds too.

What are you doing this weekend? 
Work, Run, Homework, Baking something new. I know I need to settle down.

Tomorrow is Mothers Day, are you doing anything for/with your mom?
My mom reads my blog, so I can’t tell ya. But you can tell me! I promise I wont tell your mom!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2011 10:00 am

    I definitely do the leg jiggle. Constantly. If I’m sitting down I’m jiggling. It’s probably even worse now that I don’t chew gum anymore.

    My best friend from high school is turning 21 tomorrow, so I’m going to party it up with her and a few other cool peeps to celebrate.

    For Mother’s Day, I’m baking my mother a single-lady cupcake in her favorite flavor: Carrot Cake (and, yes, I’m going to use Chocolate-Covered Katie’s recipe for the cupcake AND cheesecake/cream cheese frosting). Also, I’m getting flowers delivered to her at work on Monday that she doesn’t know about. She actually thinks that I’m not getting her anything, haha.

  2. May 7, 2011 11:01 am

    I fidget all the time too. I’m really animated (facial expressions, talking with my hands, etc.)
    btw, I consider my sarcasm to be an amazing gift, not an annoying habit. 😉

    I have so many salad combinations that I can’t even list my favourite. they’re all so great.

  3. May 7, 2011 11:17 am

    What a mean lady! I had an experience like that but I was walking home from SFSU and this lady gave me a really nasty look as she walked her dog past me. I don’t know why, it probably had something to do with me walking past her a few minutes beforehand. I have a problem with walking fast and meandering through crowds. I didn’t think it was bothersome but she did and it turned out that we not only lived in the same apartment (we hopped the elevator together), but she live RIGHT NEXT DOOR. I couldn’t believe it.

  4. May 7, 2011 12:36 pm

    i pick at my fingers! ahhhh. I hate it. and it is worse when I am nervous or stressed. drives me crazy! I also tap my feet a lot too! this weekend is full of hw. blah. but so close to summer! so close! have a good saturday!

  5. May 7, 2011 1:29 pm

    that cookie looks AMAZING! I FOOT TAP TOO!!! actually when I read this I realized I was doing it right now!.. ahahah i do it all the time– exactly why yoga is tough for me too!

  6. May 7, 2011 2:21 pm

    Haha you should def bake your neighbor some cookies! If I had that single serving cookie you made I’d be a happy girl. Sadly I’m about a trillion miles away from my mumsie on mother’s day, but we’re going to skype!!

  7. May 7, 2011 4:36 pm

    If I’m cold or nervous then I do the foot tap/leg bouncing thing. I don’t think I have any other annoying habits, though (of course. There are probably a lot of annoying things I do that I’m not aware of, which could only make it more annoying) other than rambling. Once I get started I could go on for hours.
    My perfect salad includes a whole ton of greens, like mixed baby greens, baby spinach, green and red curly kale, romaine lettuce and cabbage, some beans, some hummus, balsamic vinegar, raisins, carrots (not baby carrots. Real carrots > baby carrots), daikon, hemp seeds, sunflower seeds, and pumpkin seeds. Hah. I’ve never had my “perfect salad” and idk if I even want it, if that makes any sense. I’d be happy with just the kale, balsamic vinegar, raisins and hemp seeds. Or just straight up kale 😀
    You’re doing more than me this weekend. I think I’m going to make mochi waffles tomorrow morning for my mom with the pumpkin walnut spread from Clean Eating Chelsey. Other than that I don’t have anything planned for this weekend. At all. A week ago I would have loved this because I was so stressed/overwhelmed with studying for exams. Now I’m bored. Ugh ugh ugh. I think I might bake this cookie though. I need something to do.

  8. May 7, 2011 6:25 pm

    some people, honestly. suuuper jealous of your salad that looks delish! 🙂


    n

  9. May 7, 2011 8:02 pm

    I am such a leg bouncer!! I also think its my need to move! I hear you on the yoga, that was exactly my problem, we’re sitting there all calm and stuff and all I could think was “I just want to get up and RUN AROUND THE ROOM!!!!!” i need to be doing about 4 things at once all the time!

  10. May 7, 2011 8:19 pm

    I totally do the foot movin thing! I think it’s just because I can’t stand sitting still for too long.
    My perfect salad has everything in it im craving that day 😉

  11. May 8, 2011 4:20 am

    Mmmmm your cookie looks incredibly yummy! Happy weekend, sweetie pie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

