Skip to content

Green Monster.

May 9, 2011

Happy Monday!

If you’re a new reader and found me through my guest post on Sweet Tooth Runner, hello! If you have no idea what I’m talking about check out my guest post here on Emma’s blog!

Confession: There is a green monster back in my life.

I’m not talking about a yummy smoothie

or jealousy

I’m talking about this green monster……
Remember a week ago when I made the goal to give up coffee? That lasted long.

I enjoyed this iced coffee along side my dinner last night (which probably explains why I was until 2am)
Dinner looked a lot like yesterdays lunch, but I added cinnamon to my sammie this time. Made it even better!
I also had a snack plate for dessert
Apple, Some Dates, & TJ’s Dark Chocolate
I did the 30 Day Shred yesterday, I do it every once in while, but I wonder if I could last all 30 days or give up from boredom?

Today was filled with lots of homework and I still have so much to do! Gah, crazy quarter.

Breakfast was my usual oats, but lunch was a little different then the norm.
Baked Falafel (from a box), Dog Food  TJ’s Cumin Chickpeas, Chickpeas, Hummus, & Spinach
This dude was so filling! I wasn’t really in love with the falafel. I prefer homemade.

*insert domination of a Just Mango and more homework*

It was time for a run and I had a 4 miler planed.

I fueled up with
GF Bread and PB+Some Dates
No time for plates! (Speaking of plates, I lurrrrrve my new ones!)
I walked to union square and grabbed a grande iced coffee along the way. I thought I could enjoy it while I waited to get a satellite signal on Kevin.  Well I got one a lot faster then I expected and chugged the whole iced coffee in about 3 sips. MISTAKE.

I was about .5 miles in and my tummy started to feel weird. By the time I got to mile 2 I knew I was about to get sick. Luckily I was right by the edge of the pier and was able to get there before I just puked on the side of the path.

No one ever told me not to eat half a pack of dried mangos, toast, and dates within an hour of running and then washing it down with some black coffee would effect my running. Sheesh, next time I know.

There were definitely some tourists looking at me like I was crazy “uhhh, welcome to San Francisco” As I gracefully stepped down from the edge of the pier, wiped my mouth with my sweatshirt, this guy stepped in front of me and hit on me! I was like really dude? You are a creeper. Jk, I didn’t say that but I politely got away from that conversation as fast as I could.

My pace was actually pretty good. I didn’t feel like I was pushing to hard, so I was happy that I had ran 2 miles in under 18 min
I walked the 2 miles back home and then for dinner I had a green monster that would love me back
I wasn’t feeling like anything solid, so this was perfect. My tummy still feels a little weird so I’m hoping it goes away by morning.

Hope you all had a good weekend! I can’t wait for tomorrows post. I’m not gonna tell you what it is, but I will show you what it leaves behind…..

Have you done the 30 Day Shred? Have you done it 30 days consecutively?
I think I’ve done 8 days of it in a row, then I would just get bored of it.

Have you ever gotten sick on a run?
That would be my first!

What do you think tomorrows post will be about? 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 1:08 am

    So many yummy eats! I love those cumin chickpeas (and the spiced soybeans too) but you’re right, they do look kind of dog food-ish. Is that funfetti cake I spy?! And no I have never gotten sick on a run! I am actually terrified of throwing up so I would probably just hold it in if I could. Wow that sounds so disgusting. Haha!

  2. May 10, 2011 1:24 am

    Ahhh alll those foods look amaaaaaaaaaazing so jealous!

    PB banana and cinnnamon looks super good girl!!!

  3. czechvegan permalink
    May 10, 2011 1:27 am

    Hi, Really nice psot on Emma´s blog! And I love the meal with chickpeas, chickpeas are AWESOME:)
    I have done 30 DS, but just like for 3 days and I didn´t like it that much. I have all of Jillian´s DVD´s and the 30 DS is my least favorite. But I love all of the others!!
    But I love running, never got sick of it!

  4. May 10, 2011 3:15 am

    I found your blog through Emma’s.
    Your dishes look tasty, I wouldn’t mind having the falafel bowl now 🙂
    Oh I went sick on runs too, once I ate dried apricots one hour before the run..it was 21k and I struggled so much through it, I stopped literally at every corner and it was so hard to cross the last 20m-ish bridge without disappearing in the bush. So I learned no dried fruits before the run.
    xo

  5. May 10, 2011 4:26 am

    OMG I seriously want to eat everything you ate haha!! You definitely have the same tastes as me 🙂 And I am currently in love with dried mango too..soooo addictive!
    Ooooh I’m already excited for tomorrows post..looks like some sorta yummy funfetti cake?!

  6. May 10, 2011 4:37 am

    I have the 30 day shred, but I don’t use it as a workout program in and of itself. I’ll pop it in and do one of the levels once a week maybe for some upper body work. I just think only have 3 levels makes it a bit limiting as a training program.

    I haven’t ever gotten sick on a run, but there were times when it was close when I FIRST started back in high school, but I think that was probably from dehydration.

    AAAAND I’m gonna guess Confetti Cake 🙂

  7. May 10, 2011 5:13 am

    ack! im so sorry about throwing up!! EW!!!.. i love the 30 day shred! did it this morning!!.. ahhh 30 days in a row would get SO boring for me though!

  8. May 10, 2011 5:38 am

    When I first started running I almost threw up several times.. Never actually did though.
    I could never do the 30 days shred for all 30 days I have a short attention span and that would definitely NOT last 😛

  9. applesnoats permalink
    May 10, 2011 5:52 am

    i always find puke attractive…jk that guy is a creep!
    i’m excited for todays post..funfetti bars perhaps?

  10. May 10, 2011 6:23 am

    Hi Hannah, liked your interview … never thrown up running but felt like it once or twice.

  11. May 10, 2011 7:37 am

    birthday cake blondies ala How Sweet?

  12. May 10, 2011 8:08 am

    Is tomorrows post about funfetti cake of some sort?!? Exciting!!!

  13. May 10, 2011 9:03 am

    Your food is so pretty! And I love the fact that you incorporated 4 different forms of chickpeas into your lunch.
    Tomorrow’s post is looking pretty amazing! Sprinkles? Something with sprinkles.

  14. May 10, 2011 9:36 am

    I think coffee really messeswith me too shortly before a run… They say it can be good an hour or more before running but any shorter than that and it definitely hurts my tummy, though if you’re still in pain it could be a bug too:/

    yummy eats! I’m dying over that gooey peanut butter, simple a it is 😉


    n

  15. Jessica permalink
    May 10, 2011 9:53 am

    I think tomorrows post is going to be about http://girlmeetslife.com/2010/12/cake-batter-blondies/ …which kinda look pretty amazing to me! Can’t wait to read about what you have in store!

  16. May 10, 2011 12:57 pm

    Yum! That sandwich looks delicious. I just made a batch of honey peanut butter and banana sandwiches for a party I went to yesterday. Definitely a hit! You really can’t go wrong with nut butter and banana.

  17. May 10, 2011 1:01 pm

    Urgh sorry to hear about your run, and about that CREEP!! What a WEIRDO!! But AWESOME pace for those miles!! 😀

    Your food all looks SO GOOD!! Please come be my personal chef?! 😉

  18. lilly permalink
    May 10, 2011 2:03 pm

    I found your blog through Emma’s and I am so glad I did. I live in the bay area too, on the other side of the bridge then you. I am obsessed with TJs just mango and I did ballet for ohhh about 17 years or so and just recently quit. We seem to have mucho in common, and I simply cannot wait to stalk, I mean read, your blog more girl!

  19. May 11, 2011 2:57 pm

    You always have the best eats!! (for some reason that empty cake pan is SERIOUSLY appealing to me!) hehehe but for realz, can I move in and you can make all your yummy vegan food for me:) that melty g.f bread + pb looks bomb!

Leave a Reply

