Skip to content

Tardy for the party….

May 12, 2011

So I’m a little tardy for the party on WIAW….so here it is!

My normal bowl of oats for breakfast…..never will get tired of this combo!
Peanut Flour Paste Snack Time
Lunch was Asparagus, Sweet Potato Pumpkin Mash (plus cinnamon & applesauce), Brown Rice Toast  Protein Oat Cake
1/2 Banana
1/4c. Oats
1 Scoop Protein Powder

Mash up the banana, add the oats and protein powder. Microwave for 1:30 & Top with whatever you like! I chose crofers jam.

Apple pie larabar for some in class snackage
Salad Beast: Romaine, Spinach, Tomatos, Carrots, Chickpeas, Black Eyed Peas, Hummus, Nooch, Soy Sauce

For dessert I had another oat cake, but I added applesauce and chocolate chips to the mix
 It was delish…..
& that’s all for WIAW!

Confession: The reason I didn’t post yesterday, was because I’m in a really sucky mood. I did something to my foot and it hurts….bad. My race is this weekend and I really hope the pain will just go away by then .I took it easy yesterday, and I’m planning on doing the same today, but its frustrating because not being able to work out puts me in a bad mood and gets me into the negative mindset that I don’t like to be in. It’s the part of my brain that picks on myself, the one who says mean things. I think maybe doing some ab work and maybe lifting a few hand weights will cheer me up.

How was your wednesday?

What are you favorite oat toppings?

What are some good ab exercises or lifting exercises that go easy on putting pressure on my foot that I can do? 

24 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2011 12:00 pm

    Awww girl I’m sorry you’re hurting/in a bad mood… A few days off definitely won’t hrut you if you’re feeling guilty at all and I rpomise there will be other races ❤ The ab workout I do is okay but probably not actually the best one ever it's 8 minute abs, a video on youtube. I like it because if you just tell me to do ab workouts I lose interest verrrry quickly.

    sending your foot healing vibes from the south bay 😉 ❤

    n
    PS are you running the nike 1/2 in the fall?

    • May 12, 2011 12:26 pm

      Haha, I’ll look it up. Awww thanksss! Yes I am running it! Are you? (p.s. are you running bay to breakers?)

      • May 12, 2011 10:13 pm

        Yes to the nike half, no to bay to breakers coz I didn’t train/haven’t been running much but i may be there anyways because the colleg ething to do is get trashed and walk it… apparently they’re tightening security this year though so idk! not that i’d actually get trashed, but some of my friends were considering going…

      • May 12, 2011 10:31 pm

        Haha all my friends are like “you are actually running it this year?!” last year was screwdrivers for breakfast, so it took like 10 hrs to cross the finish line, haha. Yeah, I heard they are gonna be super strict (although they say that every year) that’s why this year they put a cap on the number of people who run it and I don’t think there are gonna be floats anymore.

        Ohhhhh lets do some training runs together! That would be so much fun:)

  2. May 12, 2011 12:21 pm

    Hello, I’m new to your blog and just wanted to say how much I’ve been enjoying it – loads of great meal inspiration, will be trying out that oaty protein cake for sure! Sorry to hear your injured, I can completely sympathise with how sucky you must feel, hope you get better soon 😉

  3. May 12, 2011 12:24 pm

    im so sorry your in a sucky moood and ur soreee!!! honeslty i agree with Nicole.. you need those days of rest.. or light exercise that doesnt hurt it! i LOVE your eats- we eat so similarly!

  4. May 12, 2011 12:29 pm

    LOVE your eats girly! I eat similar too! I’m lovin’ the sweet potato pumpkin mash – I’m definitely going to have to have this soon!
    Argh I so know how you feel about your foot..it really got me down when mine hurt because exercise is such a good release ad makes you feel better. Definitely rest your foot though – I learnt that the hard way..I tried to ignore the pain and exercised on it and I really regretted it. My injury got worse and lasted a long time which REALLY got me upset.

  5. May 12, 2011 12:40 pm

    Peanut butter, bananas, and dates are my fave oat toppings.

  6. kelsey Forier permalink
    May 12, 2011 1:12 pm

    Feel better!!! I can’t wait to try that oatmeal cake! It looks delicious!

  7. May 12, 2011 2:39 pm

    Feel better girl! What kind of bread do you buy? It looks good!

    • May 12, 2011 10:34 pm

      It’s the food for life brown rice bread. It’s good but my only complaint is, it’s too tiny!

      • May 14, 2011 5:31 am

        OH! I always buy the millet bread but haven’t tried the brown rice one yet. I’ll give it a shot 🙂 You are right they are little it’s crazy!

  8. May 12, 2011 3:37 pm

    I really wish they could start selling peanut flour in Norway, it looks sooo good!
    My current oatmeal topping of choice is walnuts and goji berries, love this combi!

    • May 12, 2011 10:33 pm

      Norway! That’s so cool. Trader Joe’s has discontinued peanut flour, so now I need to start ordering it online….booo.

  9. May 12, 2011 4:32 pm

    Grr that is frustrating about your foot ! 😦 Hope today is better for you.
    Your oatcake looks yummy! And I take Larabars to class pretty much on the reg haha they are so perfect for on-the-go 🙂

  10. lilly permalink
    May 12, 2011 5:33 pm

    I am really enjoying your blog, so much! Ummm can I just say I would eat every single thing you have… amazingly delicious girl! Hope your foot feels better, rest up!

  11. May 12, 2011 10:52 pm

    Oh man, my wednesday was horrible. I made really grody cinnamon buns (first recipe that I could ever call a failure. Like, ever. I couldn’t even eat them AND I used the last of my brown rice syrup in/on them. So not worth it) and then I just got really negative and frustrated and stuff. Today was sort of better because I had papaya for breakfast but I haven’t worked out in a few days because I don’t have any contacts left and I refuse to work out with my glasses. If that sounds ridiculous, just know that I feel uncomfortable even when I’m grocery shopping or just walking around in my glasses. I feel really disoriented with them. I’ve also had really bad experiences in the past with working out and glasses, so I generally avoid combining the two whenever possible out of fear that it will put me in an even worse mood. Also, I don’t even have any comfortable shoes I can wear to go for a walk outside AND my bike is out of reach in storage. None of that has been adding to my frustration at all. Nope, not one bit.
    I’ve decided that oats are best kept nice and simple, with a banana, some hemp seeds and some cinnamon on top. By some cinnamon I mean a boatful of cinnamon. Literally. Cinnamon makes my world go round.

  12. applesnoats permalink
    May 13, 2011 6:26 am

    so sorry your not feeling 100%..it’s so crazy how powerful excercise is for our emotions/well-being!Hopefully today is better for you!

  13. May 13, 2011 6:34 pm

    Hi! I love your blog and I hope you feel better soon! Good luck if can run! I am a teenage girl and have just started my own blog! If you get a chance to check it out, that would be wonderful and I would be so honored! Thank you for being an inspiration for me to start a blog! -Lauren teeneatlive.wordpress.com

Trackbacks

  1. Bay to Breakersssssssss |

Leave a Reply

