Skip to content

Bay to Breakersssssssss

May 15, 2011

What a weekend. Actually yesterday I didn’t do much, but today I ran across San Francisco:) It was the 100th annul Bay to Breakers, and it was my first year actually running it. (Last year there was very little running involved….college kids turn it into one huge party.) It was still so much fun though! The costumes were so funny! My favorite was the group that dressed as the royal wedding party, except all the guys were girls, and the girls were guys, it was hilarious. I also saw more naked people then I have ever seen in my entire life, haha. (Not even kidding about that last part). I finished slower then I wanted, but I was running the whole time. I felt awesome, except my foot did not. Once I got to mile 5 it was killing me but I refused to stop and walk, I could slow jog, but no walking. You don’t run 5 miles of a race only to quit with 2.5 miles left. I pushed through and felt fine for a little then we had to walk 3 miles to get to the bus. That sucked!

Honestly right now I could go for a long nap, but I can’t because I’m working an event in a little bit. Why did I agree to work on the night of Bay to Breakers? Because I’ve been dying to work with this event producer and couldn’t say no. Tonight will be a good nights sleep thats for sure!

Onto some pictures….starting with some of my pre-race day eats.
Lunch was a salad beast. Twas amazing.
I also had some toast. Burnt toast. Whoopsie Daisy.
Dessert for lunch was a Banana+PB. There really is no attractive way to photograph this snack. But hey, if your that good you don’t need to be pretty.
I also snacked on some Just Mango throughout the day. I managed not to finish the entire pack. Shocked? Me too.
Other snackage included a Protein Oat Cake topped w/ PB+Cinnamon
 Dinner was Quinoa+Hummus+Balsamic+Raisins….haven’t had this in a while and I missed it!
 Dessert fail quickly turned into a dessert win, when my cookie fell apart. So I crumbled it more, added banana, then poured on some almond milk. Amazeeballs.

Breakfast this morning was my usual bowl of oats. Since I had about 1 hr and a half to let it digest, I don’t think a big breakfast effected my running. Then again, I’ve never tried anything else before a long run so I don’t know if there are better possibilities out there.
Finished the race in 1:17:40. I wanted to finish in under 1:15:00, but next year! I’m definitely going to start working on some speed work to get a faster pace for my next race (hey that rhymes!)
I wasn’t feeling hungry at all after my race but had some coconut milk and hummus just to get something in my stomach. Not together but within 5 minutes of each other, haha.
Swag was awesome. I got so much good stuff! Larabars, coconut water, coconut milk, fuze, hummus….then a lot of stuff I couldn’t have, cheese, chocolate milk, crackers, chips, sports drinks I could prob have but chose not to. I gave all the stuff I didn’t want to some bum. I think I made his day.
Yayyyy! Finishers Medal!

Hope you all had a fabulous weekend (and pray I can walk tomorrow!)

What did you do this weekend?

Any tips on working on my speed?

What is your favorite pre-race meal?

What are your favorite eats the day before a race?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 2:11 pm

    what awesome swag! thats a great time- good job GIRL!!
    interval training helps speed!! pre race meal… toast with jam and nanner with pb…. ! hmm i dnt rly change up my eats before a race.. then again iv only ever run 5ks which didnt need much of anything!

  2. May 15, 2011 2:40 pm

    Yay for finishing 😀 I think you did outstanding 🙂
    I think your peanut butter slathered banana looks sooo good. and those mangos. I ran out 😦
    Nice swag. I love that coconut water so much.

  3. May 15, 2011 3:52 pm

    Girl you are awesome! And that drippy peanut butter looks so delicious haha I am craving pb & banana now! I love all the free stuff you get from races. Sadly no speed tips here.. I’m a slowpoke! =P

  4. May 15, 2011 11:50 pm

    Haha, whoopsie daisy. Have you seen Notting Hill?
    Oh, great Hannah, please share with me your secret to not polishing off dried fruits, especially mangoes. I got a whole bunch of dates today (they’re not really a dried fruit but they’re sold where dried fruits are sold and I think they’re high in iron, just like dried fruit, so I lump them into that category) and almost ate the whole bag. I stopped only to make some caramel sauce for my brother’s lunch tomorrow. I’m thinking that the recipe will have to go up on my blog tomorrow as it is like crack. Hah, do you watch The Office? If so, did you get that slight reference? Also have you ever tried going back to regular dried mango, like the stuff with sulphites and sugar? My mom bought it one time by accident and I was really craving mango so I broke off a little piece only to promptly spit it out and throw the whole bag into the trash. Blech.
    I have no speedy or race-y tips. I suck at running. Unfortunately I won’t ever be any help in that department, or at least that will be the case for the foreseeable future. I think I might want to improve my running skills, though, because I really really really love Lara bars (especially the coconut cream ones. Omg. So goooood), and the prospect of getting free Lara bars is really appealing. I know I could just make my own but with the money I can spend on dates and the lack of willpower I have towards them I don’t think it would work out.
    Btw it took me way too long to realize that the picture below your dessert win wasn’t another picture of your dessert win, unless it is, in which case I’m just as confused as I was before. Either way, nanners + cinnamon = a girl after my own heart.

  5. May 16, 2011 2:39 am

    Well done on your run, it sounds like so much fun! Great swag too. I usually run really early to just have a few dates (they are my rocket fuel!) but before a race that starts later in the day I go for oatmeal with banana and pb, can’t go wrong with that combo really!

  6. May 16, 2011 3:33 am

    Awesome! Sounds like a great race to take part in 🙂
    & anytime any item of food breaks or crumbles (usually something I’ve made… guess I’m a bad cook!), the instant fix-up is to just throw it into something else… & it’s always way better anyway!

    No speed tips I’m afraid… other than thinking about the freebies waiting at the end!
    & fuel-wise, looks like you fueled pretty damn well!
    When in doubt- PB on. every. single. thing. Haha x

  7. May 16, 2011 4:50 pm

    great work sweetie! aren’t medals the best!!!

  8. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    May 16, 2011 6:04 pm

    What an awesome race! Way to push through!

    That is so cool that they gave you larabars and coconut water in your swag bag….the races I’m in always give me such laaamo stuff!

Leave a Reply

