Skip to content

Rainy Day Cookies

May 16, 2011

Well my Monday started off pretty interesting. Okay, maybe it wasn’t that interesting but I did wake up in pain. My foot was killing me, and I felt like I had chugged a bottle of tequila before bed. I was definitely staving and dehydrated. At the event, there was literally nothing I could eat. I had a banana and a larabar in my purse which I ate but it was hardly enough to sustain me after a race (or anytime, actually). There was however one thing I could eat. Martini Olives. The bar tender liked me, so he filled up an entire martini glass full (Excuse me sir? Can a have a martini, hold the liquid, and heavy on the olives.) and I stored them under my check in table. By the time I was home I was literally so tired I only had enough energy to wash my face, brush my teeth, and crawl into bed. I was planning on letting myself sleep in, but I woke up at 7:30. What the heck man, can’t a girl sleep in?

Since today is a rest day, my Monday was filled with laying around, working on my portfolio, enjoying the sound of the rain, watching movies, and baking cookies.

Lunch was random, I wanted a GM (is it weird I crave them when it’s cold out?), but I also wanted some snacky stuff too, so I had
My usual GM combo
Along with Toast & PB, Dried Fruit, and Cherry Tomatoes

Told ya it was random, haha. Dinner was a salad beast….I was cravin’ them veggies.
Aren’t salads just so pretty? I love all the colors.
In this one:
>>Kale, Romaine, Spinach, Tomatoes, Carrots (I’m still hoping they will give me some color), Raisins, Sun Dried Tomatoes, Hummus, Nooch, Salsa, & Balsamic.

I wanted some cookies, after reading  Megan’s post today. Problem was, I couldn’t think of what kind of cookie I wanted. So I basically threw everything that sounded good in a bowl. Results?
Rainy Day Cookies
3 Tbsp. Brown Rice Flour
1/2 Tbsp. Cocoa Powder
1/2 Tbsp Peanut Flour
1 Scoop Protein Powder
2 Tbsp. GF Oats
1 Tbsp. Chia Seeds
1 Tbsp. Pre-Melted Butter
1/4 tsp. Baking Soda
1/2 Banana
Chocolate Chips
Raisins
Cinniamon
Unsweetened Almond Milk (as needed)

Mash up banana and set aside. Mix together all dry ingredients, then add butter and banana. Mix, then add almond milk until dough constancy is achieved. Roll into balls and gently smash into cookie shape on a lightly greased cookie sheet. Bake for 7-9 minutes at 350*.
Verdict? These weren’t the best cookies of all time, but they were still pretty darn good (and they have protein!). I think focusing on one or two flavors always ends up tasting better because the ingredients don’t have to fight for your taste buds, but hey, sometimes a girl has to chop off all her hair and make cookies with a little bit of everything.

and I happen to know that these taste amazing topped with peanut butter
but seriously, what doesn’t?

How was your Monday?

What are your favorite random lunch combos?

How do you like spending rainy days?  

12 Comments leave one →
  1. applesnoats permalink
    May 16, 2011 7:39 pm

    seriously peanut butter can make anything taste amazing!
    hope you had a relaxing rest day!

  2. May 16, 2011 8:25 pm

    Um those pb pics you post always look ridiculously good… you so win for awesome drippy peanut butter 😉

  3. May 17, 2011 1:44 am

    Yayy so happy I inspired you to bake cookies! Um that last photo… DELISH. So frustrating you couldn’t eat anything from the race… although I do love me some olives 🙂

  4. May 17, 2011 3:32 am

    ahhahha i love the martini olives!! yumM!!!
    but actually olives rock so yeah!.. umm these cookies look so goood!!

  5. May 17, 2011 8:46 am

    Yummy lookig cookies! Perfect for a rainy day indeed!:D

  6. May 17, 2011 3:38 pm

    I am in love with that drippy peanut butter.
    And those cookies. 🙂

  7. May 17, 2011 6:46 pm

    I can’t get over how beautiful your peanut butter is. Really though. It’s so pretty! I think pb is the way to go to save any baked good, you really just can’t go wrong!
    beeteedubs your salad sounds amazeballs. I love everything you put in there and may just have to make this tomorrow. Or something based off it, because I don’t have kale or cherry tomatoes 😦

  8. May 18, 2011 2:23 am

    I’d eat that place out of olives. No joke. They’re a fave.

    Those cookies look delish! The blog-world’s got me considering putting my baking hat on! x

  9. The Teenage Taste permalink
    May 18, 2011 12:15 pm

    I love your drink order —> “Can I have a martini. Hold the liquid and heavy on the olives.” Olives are the bomb, I don’t blame you for eating a cupful of them.

    Those cookies look fab. I love that they are filled with protein. I’ll have to give “protein cookies” a try sometime. 😀

  10. May 18, 2011 2:23 pm

    I do love a colorful salad! The prettier the food the funner it is to eat! 🙂

  11. May 19, 2011 10:16 am

    Oh my gosh. Cookies topped with peebs. Amazing idea. I love melting peebs and putting it on … well .. everything! (;

    I hate rainy days. I am a live and bathe in the sunshine kind of gal. It’s been raining non stop here in Michigan for what feels like FOREVER! I usually hit up a great workout DVD and hang inside. Read blogs, read some of a book, watch tv. They really just become lazy days 😛

  12. May 19, 2011 12:33 pm

    Those cookies look remarkably delicious! I really want some cookies right now!

Leave a Reply

